June Favorites

June Favorites

It’s been awhile since I’ve blogged about my monthly favorites but now that I’ve let go of my hoarding tendencies and reduced my stash, I don’t often have a lot new or interesting products to share. The makeup items that I reached for throughout the winter and spring honestly didn’t change that much, so it would’ve been boring to keep blogging about the same things over and over again. However, now that we’re fully into summer, I’ve not only changed up my go to products but I’ve also incorporated some brighter colors.

Left to right: Sonia Kashuk Eden, Maybelline Fiery Flora, Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB Cream (Light), Physicians Formula Organic Wear CC Cream (Light), IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer (Neutral Medium), Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 (Bronzer), The Conservatorie Pressed Mineral Complete Coverage Foundation (Lumiere)

Sonia Kashuk Shine Luxe Sheer Lip Colour in Eden ($11.99): This is a limited lipstick shade from Sonia Kashuk’s Spring 2015 Sahara Sunset collection. Eden is a super glossy, creamy textured, fragrance-free, coral pink with a subtle hint of gold microshimmer. If you love moisturizing, creamy lipsticks like Too Faced La Cremes, Revlon Lip Butters or Almay Butter Kiss lipsticks, you should definitely check the Shine Luxe Sheers out. The color Eden is especially perfect for summer.

Maybelline Face Studio Master Matte Blush Stick in Fiery Flora ($10.49): I’m sorry to have to mention another limited edition product but this one was part of Maybelline’s Spring 2015 Rebel Bloom collection and I absolutely love it. Fiery Flora is a completely matte, red-orange that’s extremely lightweight, highly pigmented, non-sticky and fragrance-free. I think this is a blush that’ll flatter fairer and deeper skin tones alike because it has such excellent color payoff. Since the color can be very intense, I find it easiest to apply using the e.l.f. Studio Small Stipple Brush.

Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB Cream & CC Cream in Light ($14.95 each): I’ve tried some other BB cream offerings from Physicians Formula but for my dry skin and skin tone the Organic Wear BB and CC Creams are my favorites. Both of these products are pretty natural/green. They’re free of dimethicone, starch and clay and silica is pretty far down on the ingredients list so I don’t find the formula drying. The finish is neither dewy nor matte but a very natural, healthy looking, skin-like finish. Coverage is light to medium.

The formulas and ingredients for the Organic Wear BB and CC Creams are very similar with minor differences, the most obvious being the BB Cream leans more yellow compared with the slightly peachy pink CC Cream. I can get away with wearing either product but I find the BB Cream a bit more flattering and I also prefer its scent. The Organic Wear BB Cream has a subtle coconut fragrance while the Organic Wear CC Cream has an herbal/green scent. Neither scent lingers on the skin.

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer in Neutral Medium ($24): I keep trying new concealers but I always come back to this one. Nothing else I’ve found has been as moisturizing for my ultra dry skin. The formula is thick and creamy with a slightly dewy finish and offers medium to full coverage. It’s very similar to Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer but I find Bye Bye Under Eye easier to work with because it’s not quite as thick and dense. I used to use Bye Bye Under Eye in Light but now that my skin’s a bit darker the Neutral Medium shade is my best match. It’s slightly pink which is perfect for brightening my under eye darkness.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 in Bronzer ($13.95): Like the Bye Bye Under Eye, the formula of this bronzer is an old favorite but the shade is new to me. When I was fairer I used the Airbrushing Bronzer in the Light Bronzer shade but now that I’m a bit darker the Bronzer shade suits me more. This shade is peachier and not as super satiny as the golden Light Bronzer shade but it’s still super pigmented with a buttery, smooth texture that I love.

The Conservatorie Pressed Mineral Complete Coverage Foundation (Lumiere): I wish I had blogged more about this previously so others could’ve tried it too because it seems as if The Conservatorie has shut down their entire private label retail business to focus on the wholesale end of their company. I haven’t tried a ton of mineral powder foundations but out of the ones I’ve tried (i.e. Lucy MInerals, Bare Minerals, Christopher Drummond, Everyday Minerals), this one is the best I’ve found for dry skin while still offering full coverage. There aren’t any super drying/mattifying ingredients like starch, clay, silica or talc in it which is awesome. The finish is a natural matte, so it looks like skin and not dry, powdery or cakey.

Ingredients: Mica, Fractionated Coconut Oil, Lauryl Lysine, DL-Alpha Tocpherol Acetate, Grapefruit Extract, Origanumvulgare Leaf Extract, Thyme Extract, Cinnamomumzeylancum Bark Extract, Rosmeary Leaf Extract, Lavender Flower Extract, Golden Seal Root Extract. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Chromium Oxide Greens, Ultramarines.

Target Up & Up Complexion Brush ($6.99): I’ve already written up a full blog post raving about this brush which you can check out here and I’m still loving it. I always use it to apply the Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB/CC Creams: I prefer to dab some of the foundation onto my face with my fingers first then stipple the product into my skin with the Complexion Brush. The brush is very soft and dense, doesn’t streak or absorb too much product and is easy to clean. I’ve washed it several times already and I haven’t experienced any shedding.

IT Cosmetics Heavenly Luxe Complexion Perfection Brush ($48): This brush was included in a QVC kit along with an IT Cosmetics Celebration powder foundation that I purchased. I ended up not liking the foundation (too matte and drying for me) and I really didn’t like this brush for applying that foundation. However, I recently tried the Complexion Perfection Brush with The Conservatorie powder foundation and loved the combination. I think my sudden change of opinion about the brush has to do with the difference in textures between the two powders. The Celebration Foundation was much stiffer in the pan so I had a lot of trouble building coverage with this brush because it’s so soft and fluffy. The Conservatorie’s powder foundation is a lot softer and more loosely packed so the brush picks up product easily and I’m able to achieve a solid medium coverage almost instantly. I literally touch just the tips of the bristles to the powder twice gently and stipple onto my face and that’s all the product and coverage I need. Prior to using the Complexion Perfection brush I had been using the Up & Up Complexion Brush with The Conservatorie foundation but that gave me more coverage (full) than I wanted.

This brush is an excellent multi-tasker. Besides applying powder foundation wonderfully, it’s also great for applying blush and bronzer. I’ve use it for all those products and the effect it gives never looks heavy handed or cakey but instead very natural and well blended. For traveling, this would be the only face brush I’d need.

