Random Concealer Swatches

1. Amazing Cosmetics (Fair Golden) 2. Christopher Drummond Duo Phase (Light) 3. Cover FX (N Light) 4. It Cosmetics (Light) 5. Tarte Maracuja Creaseless (Fairly Light Neutral) 6. Wet n Wild (Fair)

I’m doing a concealer clean-out and getting rid of the concealers that just aren’t working for me.

As you know, my recent blood tests showed that I’m severely deficient in Vitamin D so my doctor prescribed 50,000 IU Vitamin D3 pills for me to take and told me to get more sun. Consequently, my skin has gotten a bit darker and I’ve moved into the NC15-20 range.

My It Cosmetics concealer that I loved and used religiously is now way too light, so I’ve been buying and trying a bunch of new concealers recently. With the exception of the Wet n Wild concealer, I purchased all of them online (no Sephoras or Ultas near me) so picking the right shade for my skin tone was challenging.

1. Amazing Cosmetics (Fair Golden) 2. Christopher Drummond Duo Phase (Light) 3. Cover FX (N Light) 4. It Cosmetics (Light) 5. Tarte Maracuja Creaseless (Fairly Light Neutral) 6. Wet n Wild (Fair)

I finally, finally, got around to trying the Amazing Cosmetics Amazing Concealer. People have raved about this concealer for years. The consistency is a lot thinner, more of a liquid than a cream, compared with all of the other concealers I’ve swatched here. The coverage isn’t as high as that of the It Cosmetics concealer, my fave, but the thinner consistency looks less heavy and more natural under the eyes. It has a nice satin finish but it does crease slightly.

I picked the shade Fair Golden and when I first got it in the mail I thought, “oh, no, it’s too dark and peachy!” However, the peachiness works great at neutralizing dark circles and I always say if you have severe dark circles, try going a shade darker rather than lighter because it covers better. Seriously. If you have trouble covering up really dark circles, ask for a sample of a concealer shade that’s a bit darker than your skin tone the next time you’re out shopping. I know it sounds counter-intuitive to use a concealer that’s a shade darker than your skin tone — your natural instinct is probably to go lighter — but it might surprise you. I don’t know if this makes sense but it’s kind of like wearing a white t-shirt with a black bra where the black bra represents a dark under eye circle. The darkness shows through a white t-shirt easily and draws attention to it but if you swap out that shirt for a slightly darker beige or tan shirt then the darkness isn’t as noticeable. Obviously, you don’t want to go too dark either because that’ll also draw attention but just a bit darker makes a world of difference in my experience.

I like the Christopher Drummond Duo Phase concealer but these days it’s too light for my under eyes. It’s a bit pink compared to the other concealers I’m showing here today but I find that great for brightening dark circles. This is a hydrating liquid concealer that’s also vegan and it’s the only concealer I’ve ever tried that comes in an airless pump dispenser. Coverage is medium to full and the finish is semi matte. With this one, the pigmentation is very concentrated so you only need to use the tiniest drop. It’s a great concealer that can also function as as standalone foundation or as a foundation mix-in to add coverage to sheerer foundations.

The Cover Fx Cream Concealer isn’t a concealer that I hear mentioned a lot. I follow Jennifer Wan on YouTube and learned about the cream concealer from her channel. She hauls and reviews tons of beauty products — everything from low end to luxury — so she has a lot of experience with products to draw from and her reviews are always very informative. For reviews I trust her and Tarababyz the most because of the sheer range of products they’ve tried (they’re like beauty product encyclopedias) and because they both have very straight forward, down to earth personalities. I love it when they review luxury products and are able to suggest an equally good (or better) alternative that’s cheaper. I still watch and recommend emilynoel83 and hollieeatslipstick’s YouTube channels but I rely on them more for drugstore specific reviews.

Jennifer Wan called the Cover Fx a good all around concealer that works well as both an under eye concealer and a spot concealer and I can see that. The coverage is great and I don’t find it drying but I prefer a more satin-y finish than what the Cover Fx concealer offers. Unfortunately for me the formula isn’t waterproof and I have really watery eyes, and those two factors combined results in streaking. As such, I use this concealer mainly as a spot concealer. However, if you’re on the lookout for a concealer that can double as both an under eye and face concealer and you don’t need a waterproof formula, this is a good one.

I’ve already written up a full review for the It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer. I love it but it’s just too pale for me these days. I’ll probably buy the Neutral Medium, the next shade up, eventually.

The Tarte Maracuja Creasless Concealer is another concealer I’ve already reviewed but I tried it before Tarte expanded the shade range. This time I gave their new Fairly Light Neutral shade a try. The color’s better for me than the Fair and Light shades I tried previously but I’d forgotten how thick this concealer is. Coverage-wise it’s very similar to the It Cosmetics concealer but that one is just a little less dense and easier to work with on the skin. I have difficulty even squeezing the Tarte concealer out of its tube, it’s so thick.

The Wet n Wild Fergie Come Correct Concealer is one of the fullest coverage concealers I’ve tried from the drugstore and it’s quite thick, almost as thick as the Tarte concealer but easier to squeeze out of the tube. However, I’m not a fan of the finish which is very matte.

