Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush

While on an ice cream run at Target the other day I decided to grab the Up & Up Bronzer Brush on a whim. It retails for $7.99, so out of all the individual brushes in the Up & Up line it’s the priciest. If we’re talking makeup brushes, that’s still really affordable but I wanted to see how it stacks up against the slightly less expensive Ecotools Bronzer Brush which I’ve been loving lately.

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush

As with all of the other Up & Up brushes that I’ve tried and reviewed so far, the Bronzer Brush features a rounded gray handle and synthetic white bristles with black tips. Compared with the Complexion Brush, which is my favorite brush from the Up & Up collection, the Bronzer Brush has a much shorter, fatter handle and a larger, rounder brush head.

Although it’s really full and dense, the bristles in the Bronzer Brush are longer and aren’t as tightly packed as the bristles in the Complexion Brush so it has a lot more give and movement.

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush, Target Up & Up Complexion Brush

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush, Target Up & Up Complexion Brush


Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush, Ecotools Bronzer Brush

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush, Ecotools Bronzer Brush

People have been saying for years that the Ecotools Bronzer Brush is a great kabuki brush for applying powder foundations but it wasn’t until the last couple of months that I got around to trying it. Well, everyone’s right. The Ecotools brush is soft, full and dense but not too dense. I love a dense brush but you don’t want one that’s packed super tightly for applying powder because a brush like that’ll grab too much product and you’ll end up with cake face. The Ecotools Bronzer Brush is fantastic for getting coverage out of powder foundations while maintaining a natural, non-heavy finish. It’s also wonderful for blending out blush or bronzer if I’m ever too heavy handed. I love it! It’s a great multitasker.

When I spotted the Up & Up Bronzer Brush I couldn’t help but compare it with the Ecotools brush. First off, the Up & Up brush has a much shorter handle and the brush head is a lot more rounded. The Up & Up brush has slightly longer bristles but the circumferences of the two brushes are about the same. The Up & Up brush is perhaps just the tiniest bit larger but not by much.

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush, Ecotools Bronzer Brush

Target Up & Up Bronzer Brush, Ecotools Bronzer Brush

Between the two I prefer the Ecotools brush. When I apply my pressed powder foundation, I dip my brush into the powder, stamp/stipple it onto the areas where I need the most coverage and lastly blend everything out. Although the Up & Up brush feels very soft when I run my fingers through it, I noticed that when I tried stippling with it it felt a bit pokey on my face. The Ecotools brush is definitely softer; I never notice a prickly sensation when I use it.

I also feel like I have a lot more control using the Ecotools brush. The Up & Up’s brush has longer bristles so when I stipple with it the bristles are more prone to splaying outward so in my opinion it’s a brush best suited for sweeping motions rather than stippling. I did try it for bronzer application and it’s fine for that but honestly I don’t like either brush for that purpose. Both brushes are quite large so they’re great for all over bronzing if that’s your thing but I prefer my bronzer placement in specific areas.

If you’re in the market for a powder foundation brush or a bronzer brush and you’re stuck between these two, I would definitely steer you towards the Ecotools brush.

