Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color – Touch of Spice

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color – Touch of Spice

You’ve probably seen and heard countless reviews for Touch of Spice ($9.49) already. People have been raving about the Creamy Matte formula and this shade in particular ever since Maybelline launched the lipsticks in Fall 2014, so there’s probably no need for me to go into detail about it.

Obviously I’m really late to the game. I knew about Touch of Spice but for the most part lipsticks with a matte finish don’t interest me. A matte finish is generally not very kind to someone like me who has a lot of lip lines. Instead I gravitate towards lipsticks with glossier finishes. Still, CVS was running a promo on Maybelline this week and I had a coupon and some Extra Bucks, so I finally bit the bullet.

To put it simply, it’s the best matte lipstick formula I’ve ever encountered. I get the hype now.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color – Touch of Spice

I’ve watched dozens of YouTube reviews so I know that Touch of Spice can look different on different skin tones. On me, it’s a rosy pink with a hint of plum.

The color payoff is excellent but I’m more of a “no makeup” makeup girl so I never wear it full strength. My preference is to wear Touch of Spice sheered out as more of a lip stain. I only apply the lipstick to my upper lip, press both lips together and then work the lipstick into my lips with a fingertip. The last step is really important if you suffer from a lot of lip lines as it prevents the lipstick from settling into creases and guarantees even coverage. You could also blot with a tissue but I don’t find that as effective as a finger for those deeper lip lines.

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color – Touch of Spice

Bare Lips

Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color – Touch of Spice

My lips are naturally very pale and Touch of Spice (worn lightly as a stain) gives them a flushed, slightly bruised, just bitten effect. In the lip swatch I’m wearing the lipstick on its own but to make it more flattering on me I find it best to wear it over a lip balm or topped with a clear gloss as that blurs and smooths out the worst of my lip lines. I’m sure that ruins the whole point of a matte lipstick but its the color I love, not necessarily the finish.

The texture though is undoubtedly why the lipstick gets so many raves. It literally is a creamy matte. Touch of Spice glides on so easily and there’s absolutely no tugging AT ALL. I don’t remember being this impressed with the regular Color Sensationals but the Creamy Matte formula is amazing. Maybe it’s because my expectations for a matte lipstick were so low. I’ve experienced so many waxy, chalky, dry, hard matte lipsticks before and the Creamy Mattes blow them all out of the water.

The only thing I dislike about Touch of Spice is the scent. It’s Play-Doh for sure. Honestly though I’ll take Play-Doh scented lipstick over fruity and floral ones any day.

