Aladdin Classic Insulated Mason Tumbler

Aladdin Classic Insulated Mason Tumbler

On a non-beauty related note, I purchased this cute mason tumbler at Walmart the other day for $7.84.

One of my resolutions for 2015 is to drink more water. It’s good for the health and especially beneficial to the skin. I’ve got extremely dry skin so that would certainly help.

Although I’ve made some headway with my water intake, I still find it really difficult to drink the recommended 2.2 liters per day (FYI that’s slightly more than one of those big bottles of soda). I doubt I’d have any (well, maybe a little) trouble drinking that amount in sugary, flavored beverages like iced coffee, iced tea, juice or soda but drinking plain, straight up water is a challenge. Honestly, it’s torture.

To help facilitate the process I thought buying a cute cup would help. It certainly couldn’t hurt.

I’ve been thinking about getting a mason tumbler for a long time now but have never followed through. I love the retro look of them but traditionally mason jars are made of glass which makes them not only fragile (horrible for a klutz like me) but heavy too. Side note: I’ve actually seen some glass mason tumblers with handles at Dollar Tree minus the lids. I have no idea if they come without lids or if people go in and steal them but if you want an inexpensive mason tumbler definitely check out Dollar Tree.

Aladdin Classic Insulated Mason Tumbler

I was at Walmart filling a prescription when I stumbled upon the Aladdin mason tumblers in the aisle with all of the travel thermoses and mugs.

The Aladdin tumbler probably comes in several different colors but my local store only had them in blue which was fine by me. Unlike the conventional mason jars and mason tumblers that are made of glass, this one is made of BPA-free plastic so it’s extremely lightweight. The tumbler is double insulated to keep cold drinks cold. The lid, colored grey to mimic a metal lid is plastic as well. The straw is hard plastic so while it’s not bendable it’s strong, durable and made to survive repeated use. It’s also very long and reaches all the way to the bottom of the tumbler, so you’re able to suck up every last drop. The tumbler itself is large (20 oz) so I’d need to drink about four of these to meet my daily fluid requirements.

Aladdin Classic Insulated Mason Tumbler

I once read that it’s easier to drink more water if you use a straw because you don’t swallow as much air. I’m finding that to be true. When I drink directly from a cup without a straw I feel full and bloated sooner than when I’m using a straw. I’ve also noticed I’m less conscious of the amount of water I’m drinking when I use a straw. Drinking directly from a cup I’m constantly coaching myself, “Okay, just another sip, you can do it!” It’s truly a struggle. But with a straw I suck mindlessly and often find myself hitting bottom without realizing it. I love straws! Definitely start using straws if you have trouble drinking water like me.

Aladdin Classic Insulated Mason Tumbler

Aladdin Classic Insulated Mason Tumbler

