Concealer Haul

Amazing Cosmetics Amazing Concealer, Cover FX Cream Concealer, Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer

As much as I love my It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer, these days the color match is much too light for me so I had to go shopping for a new concealer.

Have I mentioned that I’m a vampire?

I recently saw my doctor for an annual checkup and my blood test results came back. Apparently I’m severely deficient in Vitamin D. For the past year or so I’ve been doing my best to avoid the sun. Awhile back I saw this tv special on the effects of sun damage on skin (i.e. skin cancer and premature aging) and the UV photography done on peoples’ faces showing the hidden damage from the sun totally freaked me out. Thus my vampiric ways. The doctor basically told me I need to get more sun and gave me a prescription for some high dosage Vitamin D3. 50,000 IU in pill form to be taken once a week. We’re talking hard core Vitamin D.

So adios to my <NC15 days. I’m definitely more in the NC15-20 bracket these days. As such, I need to do a complete overhaul of my concealer collection. Although I still love the formula and finish, my It Cosmetics BBUE in Light is now too light for my under eyes and the rest of my face. I’m considering buying the next shade up, Neutral Medium, but I’m going to wait for an It Cosmetics sale. In the meantime, I wanted to try out some other concealers first.

Amazing Cosmetics Amazing Concealer, Cover FX Cream Concealer, Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer

Amazing Cosmetics’ Amazing Concealer has been on my shopping list for the longest time but I was so satisfied with the It Cosmetics BBUE concealer that I put it on the back burner. Honestly, I’ve been avoiding it because picking an Amazing Concealer shade is really complicated. There are 20 shades in the range and the online swatches on their website are rather confusing in my opinion. There’s an online shade guide that breaks the concealer shades down into four categories (Fair, Medium, Tan and Deep) and based on that I decided to go with Fair Golden because it seemed like the pinkest in the Fair group. I usually prefer pink-based or salmon concealers for my dark circles. However, the swatches seem to jump around from light to dark and between pink and yellow undertones so picking a color still felt like a shot in the dark. I’m pretty sure I messed up but we’ll see.

I know everyone’s talking about the Cover FX Custom Cover Drop these days but it’s their Cream Concealer that I’ve been the most interested in trying from the brand. Luckily I was actually able to swatch the line at Sephora during the recent VIB sale so I knew which shade to get. I think N Extra Light would’ve been a great match for me a few months ago but right now N Light is best. It’s slightly peachy but I think that’ll be good for correcting under eye circles.

I also decided to give Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer another go. I reviewed the formula ages ago on my blog but that was before they expanded the shade range. If you recall, although I like the Maracuja Creaseless Concealer I prefer Bye Bye Under Eye slightly more. Back then the only choices I had were Fair and Light and Fair was too pale and Light was too dark. This time around I decided to go with Fairly Light Neutral which is supposed to be in between the two.

All three concealers just arrived by mail today so I’m going to test them out right away. I’ve gotten pretty good about purging items rather quickly, so expect to see some of these barely used concealers show up on my blog sale within the 48 hours. Just a heads up in case your’re interested in buying them. I’m already pretty sure I picked the wrong colors for a couple of the concealers and my It Cosmetics concealer definitely has to go.

