Ulta & CVS Hauls

Ulta Haul

Change of plans. I had planned on making a last minute purchase on the final day of Sephora’s VIB sale but the Tarte Showstopper palette ($38) that I’d had my eye on suddenly went out of stock. Ulta had it in stock though so I placed an order with them for the palette along with some Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB creams ($14.99 each) which were BOGO50%.

For making a qualifying $30 Tarte purchase, Ulta threw in a deluxe sample of the Maracuja Neck Treatment ($10) for free. I also got some complimentary fragrance samples.

I’ve never tried the Physicians Formula Organic Wear BB Creams but I have tried their Organic Wear CC Cream (silver tube) and I like it well enough. In fact, I’d go so far as to say it’s my favorite foundation product to date for dry skin and light to medium coverage. I figured the BB cream couldn’t be that different from the CC cream and since it was on sale I wanted to give it a try.

I wish I had waited an extra day to place my order because just one day later Ulta started offering a 2 oz jar of Juice Beauty Green Apple Age Defy Moisturizer ($45 value) for free with any $50 purchase 😦

On the plus side since I spent at least $15 on Physicians Formula I qualified for a free gift. Behold, this pink cosmetic case ($20 value). At first I thought it was too girly and childish but the more I look at it the cuter it gets.

Physicians Formula Cosmetic Case

Physicians Formula Cosmetic Case

Physicians Formula Cosmetic Case


CVS Haul

CVS sent out an email with a $3 off $15 purchase so I popped in the store to gather a few essentials.

VO5 shampoos were on sale 2/$1 so I grabbed Vanilla Mint Tea, my favorite, and Passion Fruit Smoothie which is a scent new to me. I vaguely recall hearing about a coconut scented VO5 shampoo but I’ve never seen it at any of the stores near me. It’s sad because I love coconut.

CVS is constantly running promotions on Brookside snacks but this is the first time I’ve taken them up on it. The candies normally retail for $3.79 per bag but the red scanner machine was spitting out a $2 off coupon. There were a few flavors available but I chose the Dark Chocolate Cranberries. Think Raisinets except with dark chocolate and dried cranberries and bigger.

I spotted the limited edition Spring 2015 NYC display and snagged Pink Moon ($1.99), a magenta creme.

Lastly, I’m nearly through with my Paula’s Choice CLEAN 2% Salicylic Acid Exfoliant and although I love it it’s a bit pricey so I’m trying to find a cheaper alternative. My skin loves salicylic acid (SA) but so many of the SA toners available at the drugstore contain alcohol which dries my skin out completely. I did a little research and read that Stridex makes alcohol-free SA pads (red box) and a lot of people love them so I decided to give them a try.

That week CVS happened to have a coupon for 25% off all acne products, so I purchased all of the red Stridex in the store (4 boxes, $4.49 each), two shampoos, a Brookside bag of candies, and a NYC nail polish. I used the 25% off acne care coupon, a $1 off VO5 coupon, $2 Brookside coupon, and the $3 off $15 purchase coupon. To bring my out of pocket expenses down even further I handed over some CVS ExtraCare Bucks and my total came out to less than $5 with tax. And I earned $5 ExtraCare Bucks. Not bad.

