Weekend Randomness

Mutant Strawberry

Strawberries at the grocery store were 2 packs for $1 this weekend. Hidden among its normal sized comrades in one of the cartons was this monster of a berry which I shall hereby dub Gigantor!

Mutant or not, he was delish.

Beneful Healthy Smile, Milk Bone Brushing Chews

I’ve been trying out different dental chews on my dog and I’ve come to the conclusion that they just don’t agree with him. Yeah, they freshen his breath but he has a hard time digesting them and always ends up upchucking them later on. TMI, sorry.

I tried Greenies first, then switched to the Milk Bones which he liked just as much but were a lot cheaper. Most recently I switched over to Beneful. Caution! Do not recommend. My dog is 15 lbs so I chose the Small size Beneful chews. Not only were the pieces way too oversized to the point that he couldn’t even get his mouth around them but they were extremely hard. Since the pieces were so large, I tried cutting them into smaller pieces with kitchen shears and they broke the scissors. For real, not even joking.

Needless to say I tossed the Beneful chews and I’ll be going back to a traditional dog toothpaste.

Beneful Healthy Smile, Milk Bone Brushing Chews

Beneful Healthy Smile, Milk Bone Brushing Chews


Doll Ramen Noodles

I also spotted some new noodle flavors at the Asian market, all from the Doll brand. It’s been years since I tried anything from them. I don’t remember being impressed by the brand but I decided to give them another shot and I have to say that I’ve been pleasantly surprised.

So far I’ve only tried the Curry and Pickled Vegetable flavors and I prefer the latter by far.

There are two instant ramen flavors that seem to be trending lately. Pickled Vegetable and Tomato are two flavors that I’m seeing a lot of companies putting out these days. I haven’t gotten around to trying any tomato noodles yet but I’ve tried a few Pickled Vegetable noodles from different brands and while I can’t say they do the pickled vegetable flavor any justice, the Doll Pickled Vegetable noodles are still rather delicious.

Strangely, the Doll Pickled Vegetable noodles don’t taste anything like pickled vegetables. Pickled vegetable noodles are usually some sort of savory meat based broth (pork or chicken usually) with some vinegar-y mustard greens thrown in. Not only do the Doll Pickled Vegetable noodles exhibit a conspicuous absence of pickled vegetables but there’s nothing tart or tangy about the broth either. Instead it’s more of a garlicky pork soup which, while unexpected, is seriously tasty. And the noodles themselves are much better than I remember with a nice springiness to them. Overall, they’re quite enjoyable.

I wasn’t so impressed with the Doll Curry noodles although I suppose it really depends on what type of curry you like. This one was a little too heavy on coriander, cloves and cumin for my liking. I generally prefer mellower Japanese-style curries that aren’t so heavy handed with the spices.

All in all, they’re really good noodles and only cost $0.59 each so they’re definitely worth a shot.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Randomness

  1. My dog had problems with the dental chew bones. But I found these ones that are the AKC brand. They are peppermint, yogurt, and parsley ones. She does really well with those. She’s a lab, so she eats the huge dog ones. But I’m pretty sure they also make them for small breeds. Might be worth a look.

    • Thanks for the recommendation! I think I may have seen the brand before at Big Lots or BJ’s/Costco so I’ll snag a bag next time I make a grocery trip 😀

Comments are closed.