Sonia Kashuk Sahara Sunset Blusher in Casablanca & NYC BB Beautifying Blushable Cream Stick in Never Sleeping Pink

Sonia Kashuk Sahara Sunset Blusher – Casablanca

I originally said I wasn’t going to get it but the Nirvana lipstick wowed me so much I decided to go ahead and purchase Sonia Kashuk’s Casablanca blush ($11.99) from the same Spring 2015 Sahara Sunset collection.

Sonia Kashuk Sahara Sunset Blusher – Casablanca

Casablanca is a baked powder blush that’s a bright coral color with a soft, velvety texture and a subtle satin sheen.

I suggest lightly touching your blush brush to the blush to pick up product versus swirling your brush all over the surface of the product because the blush can get a little powdery if you’re too rough with it. Pigmentation is really good so you’ll want to start with a light hand anyway and build to the desired intensity.

The blush is completely unscented.

Sonia Kashuk Sahara Sunset Blusher – Casablanca

I really love this particular shade of coral which leans more orange than pink but I’m not really digging the ingredients. Casablanca contains at least three ingredients that I know I have a sensitivity towards: talc, silica and, to a lesser extent, dimethicone. If this were a foundation, I’d immediately chuck it, but since it’s a blush that doesn’t make direct contact with my skin (i.e. I wear it on top of foundation which acts as a buffer between the blush and my skin) I’ll tolerate it. If, however, I find a good Casablanca dupe that doesn’t contain these ingredients I’ll definitely purge it. But, for now, it’s a keeper.

NYC BB Beautifying Blushable Cream Stick – Never Sleeping Pink

NYC recently released the BB Beautifying Blushable Cream Sticks in two shades: Never Sleeping Pink and Soho Pink ($4.99 each). When I saw them in the store in a cardboard display I wasn’t sure if they were permanent products, so I got them both because I didn’t want to miss out just in case they were limited edition. I shouldn’t have been so hasty; I’m pretty sure now that they’re permanent.

Never Sleeping Pink is a bright coral pink with no shimmer. Pigmentation is excellent, the consistency is thin and lightweight making blending a cinch, and it doesn’t feel sticky on the skin. It’s pretty much how I remember the old NYC Blushable Creme Sticks performing, so if you liked those you’ll probably like these, too. Much like the old Blushable Creme Sticks, the new BB Beautifying Blushable Cream Sticks are fragrance-free, too.

NYC BB Beautifying Blushable Cream Stick – Never Sleeping Pink

Ingredients: Ethylhexsyl Palmitate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Silica, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cetyl Dimethicone, Polyethylene, Candelilla Cera/Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax/Cire de Candelilla, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Ozokerite, Octyldodecanol, Cetyl Palmitate, Diisopropyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propylparaben, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Retinyl Palmitate [May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, CI 77499), D&C Red No. 6 Barium Lake (CI 15850), D&C Red No. 7 Calcium Lake (CI 15850)]

The ingredients for the new NYC BB Beautifying Blushable Cream Stick are similar to, but a little different than, the discontinued NYC Blushable Creme Sticks from several years ago. Most of the ingredients are still the same, just in a slightly different order but they seem to have removed the tin oxide and ascorbyl fluorphlogopite and added ascorbyl palmitate. Just wanted to mention that.

BECCA Songbird, Sonia Kashuk Casablanca, NYC Never Sleeping Pink

Never Sleeping Pink’s a beautiful color but I’m just not feeling the color on myself. I tend to go for peach, nude and orange blushes rather than pink, red, mauve and berry blushes and Never Sleeping Pink is just a bit too pink for me. Personal taste. Between the two new coral blushes I’ve recently purchased, I prefer Casablanca much more.

I was only going to swatch Casablanca and Never Sleeping Pink initially but the pinkness of Never Sleeping Pink made Casablanca look super orange in comparison. I didn’t want to scare people off who may not be as in love with orange blush as I am because Casablanca is a gorgeous color that deserves some love, so I swatched it next to BECCA Songbird. Casablanca’s really not that orange in comparison.

BECCA Songbird, Sonia Kashuk Casablanca, NYC Never Sleeping Pink

