Sonia Kashuk Sahara Sunset Shine Luxe Sheer Lip Colour – Nirvana

Sonia Kashuk Shine Luxe Sheer Lip Colour – Nirvana

Move over, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby, I’ve got a new favorite lipstick!

Introducing Sonia Kashuk Shine Sheer Luxe lipstick in Nirvana ($11.99). It’s a new, limited edition shade from Sonia Kashuk’s Spring 2015 Sahara Sunset collection, so if you want it you better hurry. I fell in love with the color and formula so much that I went back to the store and bought a backup.

Sonia Kashuk’s permanent range of Shine Luxe Sheer lipsticks come in plain black, rectangular tubes with white lettering and retail for $10.99 each. For this season’s Sahara Sunset collection, they’re a buck more expensive and have gotten a spiffy new design: black and terracotta with gold lettering and stripes.

I’ve gotta be honest, I’m not too wild about the new packaging. It’s a bit gaudy for my taste. I’m a “keep it simple” kind of gal so the regular packaging speaks to me more but it’s what’s inside that matters and what’s inside is fantastic.

In case you’re wondering, you can pop off the clear plastic at the top of the lipstick cap because it contains extra, usable lipstick. Unless you use your pinky or have really skinny fingers, you’ll probably have to use a lip brush to get in there though.

Sonia Kashuk Shine Luxe Sheer Lip Colour – Nirvana

I’ve heard such amazing things about the Shine Luxe Sheer lipsticks for such a long time that my expectations were rather high. I’m happy to report that these lipsticks are just as wonderful as everyone says.

The Shine Luxe Sheers have a thicker, lip balm-like texture reminiscent of the Revlon Lip Butters and Almay Butter Kiss lipsticks, so if you love those you’ll more than likely love these too. Prior to discovering the Sonia Kashuk Shine Luxe Sheer lipsticks my favorite lipstick formula was Too Faced’s La Creme line of lipsticks. The Shine Luxe Sheers don’t have as much slip as those; they’re thicker and denser in consistency but are glossier and feel more moisturizing on the lips.

One of the best things about the Shine Luxe Sheer formula is how kind it is on lip lines. The lipsticks don’t gather in lip lines or accentuate them, so if you’ve got a lot of them like I do then these are lipsticks you’ll want to check out.

The longevity of the Shine Luxe Sheer lipstick is excellent which can probably be attributed to the denser, balmy formula. I haven’t experienced any issues with it settling in my lip lines like I would with a lipstick that has a thin, slippery texture.

Bare lips

Sonia Kashuk Shine Luxe Sheer Lip Colour – Nirvana

Nirvana is a sheer, peachy nude. It has a beautiful glossy finish and contains no shimmer whatsoever. For a lipstick that’s labeled as sheer, I think it delivers a nice amount of color. I was able to achieve an even, non-patchy layer of color in one swipe.

If you hate scented makeup products, you’re in luck because the Shine Luxe Sheers are completely fragrance-free. After discovering these lipsticks I purged all of my Too Faced La Cremes which were my previous favorite lipsticks. I loved how those lipsticks felt and looked on the lips but I was never a big fan of their lemony scent, subtle as it was. The only lipsticks that I can tolerate using on a daily basis are those that have a vanilla/bakery scent or are completely fragrance-free. I don’t really care for fruity, floral or perfume-y lip products.

Almay #70 Nude Light-Medium, Clinique Curviest Caramel, Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby

Initially, I wasn’t too sure about buying Nirvana because I already had several MLBB-type colors in my stash that I thought looked similar. Upon swatching them, though, it became obvious that Nirvana is much peachier. My other MLBB lipsticks are either a lot pinker or browner in comparison.

Nirvana is also the glossiest lipstick in my collection. I took a photo with flash so you can see how much shine it has. It’s shinier than the Almay Butter Kiss lipstick (which is similar in formula to the Revlon Lip Butters) and Clinique Chubby Stick, and I’d say it’s just as glossy as, if not more so than, the Too Faced la Creme lipstick in Spice Spice Baby.

Almay #70 Nude Light-Medium, Clinique Curviest Caramel, Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby

Almay #70 Nude Light-Medium, Clinique Curviest Caramel, Sonia Kashuk Nirvana, Too Faced Spice Spice Baby

The gorgeous color, fantastic formula and the fact that it’s completely unscented are what makes this particular lipstick backup worthy. My recommendation is to get one while you still can! Honestly, Nirvana is the most perfect, MLBB (my lips but better) lipstick shade I’ve ever encountered. It’s so hard finding a great lipstick formula that’s fragrance-free. Well, this one’s so good I had to buy two for myself.

