Collective Haul

Collective Haul

Just wanted to share the goodies that I’ve purchased within the past couple of weeks.

1. It’s that time of the year again! Yep, Girl Scout cookies time! I usually buy the Savannah Smiles but the troop that was selling cookies at the mall didn’t have any of those this time, so I asked if they had anything new. I remember hearing about a new cranberry cookie but they didn’t have those either. They did however have a new oatmeal cookie called Rah-Rah Raisins ($4).

The official Rah-Rah Raisins description says:

Made with whole grain oats, these new hearty oatmeal cookies are packed with plump raisins and Greek yogurt-flavored chunks. An addition worth cheering about this cookie season!

I’m not the biggest fan of raisins but I don’t mind them so much in oatmeal cookies, so I’m excited to give these cookies a taste.

2. Since I’m all out of my CeraVe moisturizing cream, CVS knockoff CeraVe lotion and Vanicream, I decided it was finally time I tried First Aid Beauty’s Ultra Repair Cream that everyone on YouTube is always raving about. The best deal I found was on QVC. You get a 2 oz travel size Ultra Repair Cream and a jumbo 12 oz jar of Ultra Repair Cream for $39.

QVC recently lowered their shipping prices, so shipping and handling plus tax was only an additional $5-$6. $40+ may sound pricey but a 2 oz Ultra Repair Cream retails at Sephora for $12 and a 6 oz jar normally costs $30. QVC is one of the few, if only, retailers that I’ve seen that sells the extra large 12 oz size.

The day I made my purchase QVC was running one of their rare site-wide Easy Pay promotions, so I only had to pay about $11 up front and the remainder of the balance will be paid off in installments over the course of the next 3 months (4 payments total).

3. Sonia Kashuk launched their Spring 2015 Sahara Sunset collection this month. I subscribe to Jessin Reyes on YouTube and she always does really great reviews on all of the new and limited edition Sonia Kashuk products. She recently posted a video that included swatches and reviews for most of the stuff in the new collection and I knew right away that I needed to get the nude-y Nirvana lipstick ($11.99). I’ve been hearing lots of positive things about the Sonia Kashuk Shine Luxe Sheer Lip Colours for the longest time but when I saw her swatch for Nirvana I knew it was time to finally jump on these lipsticks.

When I was in the store I also saw the coral Eden ($11.99), the other Shine Luxe Sheer lipstick in the Sahara Sunset collection, and decided to get it too since it was the last one in the display. You can see the colors of the lipstick through the clear plastic at the top of the tube so I compared Eden to Sheer Juicy Coral from the permanent Shine Luxe Sheer line and Eden looks a lot brighter and more vivid of a coral than Sheer Juicy Coral. The fluorescent lighting in Target’s kind of iffy but based on what I could see through the cap it seemed like Nirvana’s the most similar to Sheer Mauve from the regular line except warmer and not as dark.

Besides the lipsticks the only other items that interested me were the Arabian Dreams highlighter ($19.99) and Casablanca baked blush ($11.99) but I restrained myself. I thought it over and Arabian Dreams would probably work better as a blush than highlighter on my skin and I’m kind of over shimmery blushes these days. It looks gorgeous though, not just the combination of colors but the overall design too! And while I love coral on others I don’t necessarily like it on myself especially if the coral has a lot of red to it. Yellowy oranges and peach are more my thing, so I passed on the Casablanca blush.

4. Last, but not least, a Dollar Tree find! I stumbled across a display of these single serve reusable coffee filters. At Walmart (which has some of the lowest prices I’ve found), the “name brand” Solofill and Ekobrew coffee filters normally retail for around $10-$12 for a single pod. The Dollar Tree version is a steal in comparison and it fits perfectly into my Keurig 2.0 coffee machine. I’m probably going to go back and scoop up a few backups. By the way, if you’re thinking about getting a Keurig 2.0 I would recommend against it. I got mine for free via Influenster and it’s all right and I still use it but only because I figured out how to get around its persnickety DRM system. It just has too many cons versus pros in my opinion.

