Jordana Modern Matte Lipstick – Matte Tease

Jordana Modern Matte Lipstick – Matte Tease

I happened upon a freshly filled Jordana Cosmetics display at Duane Reade the other day and decided to try my luck with the new Modern Matte lipsticks. In my experience it’s rare to find Jordana lip products that haven’t been mangled and swatched beforehand by others, so when you do you’ve got to make the most of it!

I purchased the shade Matte Tease ($2.99).

Jordana Modern Matte Lipstick – Matte Tease

I could’ve scooped up all the Modern Matte shades in the Jordana display but I decided to go with only one. My lips have a lot of fine lines and, generally speaking, matte finishes aren’t as flattering on me as lipsticks with more moisturizing formulas and glossier finishes. I knew going into this that there was a high chance I wouldn’t like the Modern Matte formula so, rather than buying a bunch and wasting my money on several, I thought it would be wiser to start with one. After all, if I like it I can always go back and buy more.

I stood in front of the Jordana display for a good 10 minutes trying to decide which color to try. It came down to Matte Bare, Matte Tease and Matte Classy which were the most neutral colors available. My gut told me to get Matte Bare or Matte Classy but I was worried Matte Bare would be too nude and wash me out and Matte Classy too dark. In the end I went with Matte Tease which looks like a mid-tone pink in the tube.

Jordana describes Matte Tease as a rosy pink.

Jordana Matte Tease, Red Apple Lipstick Audrey

Matte Tease looks like it would probably be a very wearable, neutral pink that would suit many skin tones. Understandably, whenever I’ve come across a Jordana display at Walgreens this is the shade that’s always sold out.

The lipstick swatched really nicely on my hand. For a matte lipstick, the formula doesn’t feel as dry and the finish isn’t as super matte as I’d expected. I’m guessing that’s what Jordana meant by “modern” matte. This is a softer matte, not a harsh, dry, flat, cakey, powdery looking matte. I’ve swatched Jordana Matte Tease alongside the glossy Red Apple Lipstick in Audrey so you can see the difference in finishes.

The lipstick feels stiffer and dryer on application compared to the moisturizing, high shine lipsticks that I usually go for (e.g. Too Faced La Creme, Red Apple Lipstick Summer Passions, Clinique Chubby Sticks, Revlon Lip Butters, Lipstick Queen), but for a matte formula that’s expected. However, it doesn’t feel as dry as I thought it would. Of course it doesn’t glide across my lips like butter but I didn’t experience any tugging or pulling when I applied Matte Tease to my lips either. And when I press my lips together, there’s a bit of slip and creaminess. It doesn’t feel thick, pasty dry or overly dense. If you want to know a lipstick formula that really dragged on my lips, I’ll point you to the Wet n Wild Mega Last lipsticks. I remember trying those when they first launched years ago and they were so dry and stiff.

My lips aren’t very pigmented or rosy but I was impressed with the color payoff of Matte Tease. I was able to achieve even coverage and total opacity really easily in two passes.

The lipstick has a subtle vanilla scent but no flavor. I think i’s a pleasant change from their usual watermelon and fruit scented lip products.

Bare Lips

Jordana Modern Matte Lipstick – Matte Tease

Unfortunately, I’m not too wild about the Matte Tease color. It’s too bubblegum for me. I’ve mentioned before that most lipsticks pull cool on me and Matte Tease is no exception. It definitely shows up on my lips a lot cooler than it looks in the tube or in a hand swatch. I probably should’ve gone with a warmer or peachier color like Matte Bare, Matte Pretty or Matte Whisper.

I’m also not completely sold on matte lipstick for someone like me who has lots of lip lines but it’s not as horrible as I’d expected. Honestly, the way Jordana Matte Tease sits on my lips is how most regular, non-moisturizing lipsticks look on me…actually maybe a little better. It doesn’t gather and settle in my lip lines the way the Revlon Super Lustrous and Maybelline Color Sensational lipsticks do, so I may buy more Modern Mattes for that reason alone. There have been times when I’ve wanted to switch up my usual glossy lipsticks for something less shiny, and at $2.99 a tube the Jordana Modern Mattes are definitely an affordable way to do so.

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil,Propylene Glycol Myristyl Ether Acetate, Cetyl Acetate, Oleyl Alcohol,Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Ozokerite, Euphorbia Cerifera Cera (Candelilla Wax), CoperniciaCerifera Cera (Carnauba Wax), Synthetic Beeswax, VP/Hexadecene Copolymer,Lanolin, Acetylated Lanolin Alcohol, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Vanillin, TocopherylAcetate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Mica. +/-May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI77499), Red 28 (CI 45410), Red 22 (CI 45380), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Red 7 (CI15850), Yellow 6 (CI 15985), Blue 1 (CI 42090), Carmine (CI 75470).

