Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush in Light

CVS is running a promotion on Physicians Formula this week: spend $10 and earn $7 Extra Care Bucks.

I’ve had my eye on the Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush for awhile now but it normally retails for a whopping $14.79, so this was the perfect time to get it.

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush in Light

The Super BB blush & bronzer is available in two shades: Light and Light/Medium. I purchased Light.

The packaging is typical of most Physicians Formula face/cheek products. The blush/bronzer pan flips up to reveal a mirror on the underside and a lower compartment with a brush. It’s plastic and too bulky for my taste although I can see the practicality of it. I’ll be doing a bit of traveling soon and I had been planning on packing a blush and bronzer but something like the Super BB blush & bronzer could be a real space saver. You’ve got two cheek products, a mirror, and a perfectly functional brush all in one compact.

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush in Light

The brush that comes with the compact is totally gimmicky. I think they were going for heart shape but to me it looks more like a butt.

Usually the mini brushes that come packaged with drugstore blushes/bronzers are really scratchy but this one’s surprisingly soft and usable. It’s not as soft as a Real Techniques or Ecotools brush but for someone on the go this brush will definitely do in a pinch.

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush

I’m guessing the idea behind this brush is time efficiency: you dip one buttock into the bronzer and the other buttock into blush at the same time and then sweep both onto your face in one motion. Who really does their makeup like that though? I think the overall effect would be rather stripey and reminds me of the ultra gimmicky L’Oreal One Sweep Eyeshadow. And what happens when you’ve hit pan on the center of the blush/bronzer and all that’s left are bits of powder along the very edges of the compact? The butts won’t be much of a time saver then. Like I said, gimmicky.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 in Light Bronzer, Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush in Light, Jane Iredale In Touch Cream Blush in Clarity

As for the powders themselves, I have to say they’re actually very nice. They’re not nearly as creamy in texture or as richly pigmented as my favorite Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Airbrushing Bronzer — which, in my opinion, is a pretty high drugstore standard to beat — but they’re still pretty good. They’re a touch drier than the Airbrushing bronzer and kick up more dust in the pan but they have a soft, silky texture and good color payoff although I have to say the blush has better pigmentation than the bronzer.

I’ve eliminated so many items from my makeup collection so I don’t have much left to compare the Super BB blush & bronzer to but I did pull one bronzer (FYI I only have one other bronzer) and one blush that I thought looked similar.

Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Airbrushing Bronzer SPF30 in Light Bronzer, Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush in Light, Jane Iredale In Touch Cream Blush in Clarity

The Airbrushing bronzer has a shimmer-free, satin finish that gives the skin the loveliest sheen. The Super BB bronzer is peachier and lighter in color and more matte in comparison with superfine microshimmer. Don’t be scared, the microshimmer is barely noticeable and is swept away as soon as you blend/buff the product into the skin.

The Super BB blush came as a bit of a surprise…but not really. It looks peachy pink in the pan with an even subtler microshimmer than the corresponding bronzer but shows up much pinker and cooler on my skin. Most blushes pull cool on me though so this wasn’t a shocker. On my skin the Super BB blush looks like a paler powder version of the Jane Iredale In Touch Cream Blush in Clarity that I love.

Despite the tiny light reflecting particles in the blush and bronzer, the overall finish of the Super BB blush & bronzer on the skin is a soft matte. As stated earlier, the microshimmer gets buffed and swept away pretty easily so the powders are mostly matte but not that awful, super flat matte to the point of looking dry and powdery.They don’t melt into the skin like the Becca Mineral blush but the finish is a natural looking matte that I think most people would enjoy. The way the Super BB blush & bronzer sits on the skin reminds me of theBalm’s powder blushes, not the Instain blushes but the regular blushes (Cabana Boy, Down Boy, Frat Boy).

All in all I think the Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush is a good buy. Do I think it’s worth $14.79? Nah, but I’m the type of person who thinks nothing at the drugstore should cost more than $10. My recommendation is to hold out for a sale and get it.

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush

Physicians Formula Super BB All-in-1 Beauty Balm Bronzer & Blush

