bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon

bareMinerals READY duo in The Phenomenon features Azure Iris (prismatic lavender) and Golden Iris (illuminating Amber). It normally retails for $20 in stores but I purchased mine brand new off of a blog sale for a bit less.

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon

When I was editing my makeup collection The Phenomenon was one of the items that I found myself going back and forth on constantly. Although I love both colors and the quality of the eye shadows, it was the purple shade that had me questioning whether or not the duo was a keeper. You see, I’m a neutral girl at heart and even though Azure Iris isn’t a loud or bright color it’s still more colorful than I’m used to wearing. I appreciate colorful shades on other people but wearing non-neutrals always makes me feel really self-conscious.

I’d actually already sold off my original The Phenomenon duo for that very reason when I happened upon aLoveTart’s Products I’ve Hit Pan On video. She’s wearing the duo throughout the entirety of the video and it looks gorgeous on her. It made me rethink purging The Phenomenon so much so that I ended up repurchasing it soon after.

Both Azure Iris and Golden Iris have some sheen, Golden Iris more so than Azure Iris, but no obvious shimmer or sparkle. The textures are quite smooth and blendable if perhaps the tiniest bit drier than some of the other READY duos/quads/8-pans I’ve used in the past. Still, the duo’s top notch and on par with other READY shadows in terms of quality.

Although I love both colors individually, personally, I can never seem to make them work together in one cohesive eye look. The combination never looks right on my eyes no matter how I place the colors and blend them. Because of that I tend to wear the colors on their own or in combination with other neutral shadows from my makeup collection.

In the pictures below, I’m wearing Azure Iris and Golden Iris separately with only Maybelline Colossal mascara and some bareMinerals Lasting Brown eyeliner (from the Bare Tutorial Neutral Eyes collection) smudged on my top lash line. No primer underneath. Applied on bare skin.

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon (Azure Iris)

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon (Azure Iris)

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon (Golden Iris)

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Phenomenon (Golden Iris)

