Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

Last month I received a complimentary sachet of the Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum to test and review in my Influenster Frosty VoxBox. A full sized bottle of the serum normally retails for $29.99.

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

What they say:

This clinically proven serum is even more effective at reducing the appearance of deep lines & wrinkles for younger looking skin in two weeks.

When I first heard that this was a serum I expected the Protect & Perfect serum to have a thin fluid consistency like Estee Lauder’s Advanced Night Repair but this actually has a denser texture reminiscent of gel moisturizers. The Protect & Perfect serum is lightweight and absorbs quickly, leaving the skin feeling non-sticky and silky smooth.

Technically the serum is fragrance-free but it does have that characteristic scent that I associate with silicone-based face primers. If you’ve ever used Smashbox Photo Finish, Rimmel Fix & Perfect, Laura Geller Spackle, Monistat Chafing Relief Powder Gel or any other similar primer, you know the smell I’m talking about. In fact, dimethicone is listed as the primary ingredient in the serum.

In my experience, any line-smoothing that this serum provides is minimal, superficial and only temporary. It basically works like any silicone-based face primer, gently smoothing out fine lines (although to a lesser degree compared to other face primers since this serum has a much lighter, thinner texture) as long as you have the product on your face but the minute you wipe it off the fine lines reappear.

I’ve mentioned in several recent blog posts that within the past year or so I’ve developed a sensitivity to -cones and, unfortunately, I found this serum to be very drying and irritating. I noticed an increase in redness and dry, flaky skin during the period I was testing the serum.

If you’re okay with -cones this serum may be worth a shot but I think you could probably get the same temporary smoothing effect from a less expensive face primer.

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

Boots No7 Protect & Perfect Intense ADVANCED Serum

