On a Mineral Foundation Kick

Mineral Foundation Haul

I don’t know what triggered it but all of sudden I’m on a mineral foundation kick or rather finding one that works on ultra dry skin.

To give you a brief summary of my history with mineral makeup, years ago I tried Bare Minerals‘ loose powder foundation when it was all the rage and hated it. I love glowiness but the finish was so unnatural, almost Tin Man metallic to be quite honest, and it emphasized any dry patches. Not only that but it made my face feel like ants were crawling all over it. I later came to learn that’s a typical allergic reaction to bismuth oxychloride.

After that I remember trying some unimpressive mass market mineral foundations (Maybelline, Prestige, Palladio) before giving Everyday Minerals a try. I don’t know if they still do it but years ago they used to offer a sampler and you could try a bunch of their mineral concealers, foundations and blushes for a really low price. I remembering ordering several foundation samples in the different formulas they offered but I must not have been impressed because I don’t remember feeling strongly one way or another about them.

Fast forward to 2015 and suddenly I’m willing to give mineral foundation another try. I’ve got to admit there is a certain appeal to powder makeup; it’s just so easy to slap on compared to liquid or cream foundations.

After going through the slow process of editing my makeup stash I feel like I’ve gotten a better understanding of ingredients that don’t work well with my skin and exacerbate dryness. I’ve learned that my skin is sensitive to -cones (e.g. dimethicone, silicone), silica, talc, kaolin, starch, and bismuth oxychloride, so going forward I’m trying to avoid purchasing makeup that contains any of those ingredients especially in foundation since it has direct contact with my skin. (With blush, bronzers and highlighters I’m more lenient.)

You wouldn’t believe how hard it is to find mineral makeup that doesn’t contain any of those extra irritants but luckily I found two brands that seemed to meet my requirements: Lucy Minerals and The Conservatorie.

I’ve heard high praises sung regarding Lucy Minerals so I bought samples of their mineral foundation in the shades Pale Olive and Light. I got Pale Olive in the Lucy Light formula and the Light foundation shade in the Original formula because I was afraid I would be sensitive to their Original formula ingredients but, honestly, I can’t tell a difference between the formulas which I suppose is a good thing. It means I’m not as sensitive as I feared.

The coverage is definitely impressive, I’d say medium-full which is much better than Bare Minerals, Everyday Minerals and any of the other mineral foundations I tried previously. Unfortunately, I notice an uncomfortable tightness to my skin anytime I’m wearing Lucy Minerals. After doing a little bit of research I’ve learned that that’s a common reaction to titanium dioxide so add that my list of ingredients that I need to be wary of in the future.

The color Light is a little too pink for my skin tone. Pale Olive is a decent match (I was afraid it was going to be too green) but I could’ve done with a touch more yellow. The good thing about Lucy Minerals is that they can custom mix shades per request so if their formulas work for your skin, then you’re in luck in terms of shades because the sky’s the limit.

I learned about The Conservatorie’s Pressed Mineral Complete Coverage Foundation after stumbling across Oxana124’s channel on YouTube.  She reviews lots of non-toxic “organic” beauty products and has become one of my favorite beauty YouTubers of late ever since I decided to make the shift towards more natural makeup. She demo’d and gave The Conservatorie’s Pressed Mineral Foundation a positive review in one of her videos awhile ago but I put it on the back-burner because The Conservtorie’s shipping prices are really expensive. They’re primarily a wholesale business and make their money on bulk orders, so their smaller retail business is more of an afterthought.

Although their Pressed Mineral Foundation is around $10, shipping for one compact is about $10 (and increases incrementally based on weight) so it’s not really worth it unless you buy multiple products in one order. Nevertheless I wanted to give the foundation a try so I decided to buy 3 foundations in 3 different shades (mainly because the swatches on their site are confusing and I wasn’t sure which one would suit me) and the shipping alone was nearly $14. Blah. Delivery time’s another downside with The Conservatorie. Don’t order from them if you’re in a rush. It took over a week for them to even process my order and another 4 days to ship. Fortunately, I have to say that I really, really like the product!

The coverage is wonderful, high but a little less full coverage than Lucy Minerals; however, I prefer The Conservatorie’s finish a lot more. The Lucy Minerals was a little too matte on my ultra dry skin and made it obvious I was wearing powder. The Conservatorie foundation has a more natural looking, softer matte finish. I purchased three shades — Lumiere, Vanilla and Neutral — and Lumiere, the lightest of the three, is my best match. I’d say Lumiere’s probably around an NC15. In the pan, Vanilla and Neutral are slightly darker and would probably work best on NC20-25 skin. I didn’t bother swatching the latter two because Lumiere was so spot on for me, so if you’re interested in either Vanilla or Neutral I’ve listed them on my blog sale brand new.

I plan on doing a full review of The Conservatorie foundation after I’ve used it for awhile longer just to make sure I don’t develop an adverse reaction but so far, so good! If you have dry skin and have been looking for a powder foundation this is definitely one to consider. It states on the packaging that the product may contain titanium dioxide but I’m guessing not a lot because it doesn’t cause that tight sensation in my skin that I get from the Lucy Minerals foundation.

The Conservatorie Pressed Mineral Complete Coverage Foundation Ingredients:
Mica, Fractioned Coconut oil, Lauryl Lysine, DL-Alpha Tocopherol Acetate, Grapefruit Extract, Origanumvulgare Leaf Extract, Thyme Extract, Cinnamomumzeylancum Bark Extract, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Lavender Flower Extract, Golden Seal Root Extract

May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Chromium Oxide Greens, Ultramarines.

