The Great Purge of 2014: Aftermath – Concealers

Concealers

With my nail polish collection edited down to my absolute favorite shades that I knew would get a lot of use, I finally moved onto my makeup collection.

Out of all the different categories of makeup there are, concealer was definitely the easiest one for me to sort.

I’m quite particular when it comes to concealers. Since I have dark circles and ultra dry skin, I gravitate towards concealers with high coverage and moisturizing formulas that have either a satin or dewy finish. Ideally there shouldn’t be any shimmer, sparkle or light reflecting particles in the concealer but if there are I won’t complain as long as the formula’s hydrating. I’m not especially fussy when it comes to a spot concealer but I’m a stickler with undereye concealers. Rather than blue or purple, my dark circles are brown and I’ve found that pink concealers and correctors work the best at neutralizing my specific problem.

Some types of products take me a few uses before I know whether I like it or not but with concealers I always know right away. I’ve tried lots of concealers from drugstore to high end and these are the three that I find myself going back to time and again:

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer (Fair) It Cosmetics consistently comes out with great, innovative products that I’ve spoken highly of before but their concealer is far and away my favorite out of everything in their lineup. If you like heavy coverage, moisturizing concealers you definitely need to check this one out. The tube I own is the QVC-exclusive jumbo sized (1 fl oz) version that’s only released once a year for a limited time. I’ve had mine for nearly a year now and I’ve barely made a dent in it. I swear there’s probably at least 95% percent left in the tube because I only ever need to use a pin size drop to get sufficient coverage for each dark circle.

Prior to discovering this gem I’d been a big fan of Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer. Compared to that, the It Cosmetics concealer is a little less thick/dense so it’s easier to blend on the skin but offers a similar amount of coverage as the Maracuja concealer with a dewier, more moisturizing finish. The shade range is very limited but if you can find a match it’s a wonderful, wonderful product. Highly recommend.

Christopher Drummond Duo Phase Hydrating Concealer This is relatively new concealer to my collection. I got it awhile ago but I’ve been using it since the beginning of January and it’s already climbed the rankings to become my second favorite. I plan on doing a more in-depth review on this particular concealer soon but for now I’m just going to say if you have dry skin and love Bye Bye Under Eye, the Maracuja Creaseless Concealer or moisturizing concealers in general, then you need to try this one. The lighter shades lean neutral-pink but have awesome coverage (as much as BBUE and the Maracuja Creaseless) with a much more lightweight, even easier to work with formula. There’s a bit of a learning curve to getting it to work in the undereye area without creasing so it’s not my favorite for circles but it’s still really good. I own the two lightest shades: Fair and Light.

Coastal Scents Bright Eyed Eye Brightener (Ivory) An oldie but a goodie that I’ve been using for the past three years. It’s technically a color corrector and not a concealer but I lump the two categories together because they serve similar functions. Since it’s not a concealer, don’t expect it to give you a lot of coverage. What this product does is brighten and neutralize undereye darkness. If you’ve ever used Maybelline’s Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in Radiant, the Coastal Scents Bright Eyed is very similar in both formula and function but a much better value in terms of price per ounce of product. I use the brightener everyday underneath concealer and it does a brilliant job.

Honorable mentions: At the drugstore, I really like CoverGirl’s CG Smoothers stick concealer. If you enjoyed CoverGirl’s CoverGirl + Olay Concealer Balm, the CG Smoothers concealer has a nearly identical formula but it’s less mattifying, more hydrating with a dewier finish, and great for people with dry skin. If you can’t get your hands on the Coastal Scents brightener, Maybelline’s Dream Lumi Touch in Radiant is quite similar, just not a good bang for your buck. For mid-range/high end I rather like Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer but prefer It Cosmetics’ Bye Bye Under Eye slightly more. The Tarte concealer has great coverage and works wonderfully on dry skin but the consistency is very thick so it’s not as easy to blend as the Bye Bye. I also prefer the dewier finish of Bye Bye more than the satin finish of the Maracuja Creaseless.

