Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipsticks

Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipsticks

I grabbed 8 out of 12 shades of the new Almay Smart Shade Butter Kiss Lipsticks from CVS ($7.49 each).

I normally wouldn’t buy so many of an untried product but since I know that Revlon owns Almay and I already like Revlon’s Lip Butters I felt confident that I’d like the Butter Kiss Lipsticks, too. Generally speaking, sister companies use similar formulas for their products (e.g. Milani & Jordana), so if you like a product from one brand it’s usually safe to say you’d like a similar product from their sister company.

Sorry, no lip swatches because my lips are in no condition to be photographed right now. The hot, dry indoor heating and icy cold winter winds outside have not been kind on my lips this week.

I chose the following colors:

  • #10 Berry Light
  • #20 Pink Light
  • #30 Nude Light
  • #50 Berry Light-Medium
  • #70 Nude Light-Medium (A great MLBB shade and my personal favorite.)
  • #90 Berry Medium
  • #110 Nude Medium
  • #120 Red Medium

Almay Butter Kiss Lipsticks (clockwise from top left): Berry Light, Pink Light, Nude Light, Berry Light-Medium, Red Medium, Nude Medium, Berry Medium, Nude Light-Medium

I haven’t used the Almay Butter Kiss Lipsticks long enough to fully form an opinion yet but as of right now I like them. Right off the bat I can tell you that as a MLBB/neutral lover I prefer the shade selection of the Almay Lip butters to that of the Revlon Lip Butters that featured more brights.

The consistencies of the Almay lipsticks also seem to be more consistent overall. I’ve owned and used many of the Revlon Lip Butters and some shades would have an extremely soft and creamy, almost mushy, formula while others felt more solid yet still creamy. The Almay Lip Butters all feel like the more solid yet creamy Revlon Lip Butters rather than the really smooshy ones which is a good thing since the really soft Revlon Lip Butters always got super messy in the packaging over time.

The Almay Butter Kisses have a soft, subtle vanilla scent that fades pretty quickly.

Among the shades I purchased, only two have visible shimmer: Nude Light and Berry Light-Medium. The rest have a creme finish or close to a creme finish with such sparse and tiny, light reflecting, microshimmer particles that I’d still classify those are cremes too since I can barely see the minuscule specks of shimmer unless I hold the lipsticks right up to my eyes.

The Butter Kisses, like the Revlon Lip Butters, all provide the lips with a good amount of glossy shine although I noticed Pink Light, Nude Light, and Berry Light-Medium were just a bit glossier. Those three particular shades also happened to be a little sheerer than the other shades although I could layer them to build up a bit more color.

Revlon Red Velvet, Almay Red Medium

And here’s a swatch comparison of Revlon Red Velvet and Almay Red Medium. The two are really, really similar so if you’ve been searching for a replacement for the discontinued Red Velvet, Almay’s version is a good one. Red Velvet has a bit more brown/brick to it and Almay Red Medium is a little more berry/plum but the difference is very small.

I was planning on swatching Revlon’s Fig Jam (another recently discontinued shade) next to Almay Nude Medium but, alas, I don’t know where I put Fig Jam. It’s gone missing. I know Fig Jam is loved by many but it was never one of my favorites. I have very pale lips and it read too brown on me. Based on swatches Nude Medium looks like it might be a good match for Fig Jam, at least from what I can remember, so Fig Jam lovers may have a reason to rejoice. FYI: Marlena (a.k.a. Makeup Geek) picked Almay #110 Nude Medium as one of her 2014 favorites and it doesn’t look as brown on her skin tone as it does on mine.

P.S. I’ve updated my blog sale so please take a look when you get the chance. Thanks!

