Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner & Gentle Eye Make Up Remover

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner – Black

If you go back through my old posts, nearly two years ago I purchased the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in the Nude shade for the purpose of brightening up my waterline. I was impressed with the creamy texture and pigmentation but I have very watery eyes so it didn’t come as a surprise when it didn’t last on my waterline. I still haven’t found an eyeliner from any brand that does.

Recently though I was sent a complimentary Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in the color Black to test and review from Influenster, so I was excited to give the pencil another go especially since I’d never tried the formula on my top lash line.

The retail price for these pencils at my local CVS is $4.69.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner – Black

The Scandaleyes eyeliner has a nice, creamy formula and the particular shade I have is a pigmented, matte black.

To be quite honest, I don’t reach for pencil liners as much as I used to when I was younger, even compared to two years ago. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve started to notice a loss of firmness and elasticity in the skin around my eyes. The skin there just isn’t as tight as it used to be. My eyelid skin feels thinner and looser, so even the creamiest of pencils pulls, stretches and drags at the skin and skips. It makes lining my eyes or drawing wings more challenging even if I pull the skin taut. For that reason, I tend to favor the creamier formulas of gel liners these days.

It’s much easier, in my opinion, to draw a crisp, clean line with a gel liner than pencils. Pencil liners, especially creamy ones like the Scandaleyes, lose their sharp points pretty quickly so I find it’s more difficult to draw a precise line with them.

In the photos below, I sketched out the shape I wanted first with the Scandaleyes liner, filled it in, and then went back in with a cotton swab and makeup remover to clean the line up and sharpen the wing. The line, however, still wasn’t as crisp as I wanted since the pencil skipped in some areas on my looser, thin eyelid skin so I decided to lightly smudge it out a bit and that seemed to help smooth out and fill in any gaps in my line. It also softened the effect which I actually liked.

I keep my wings quite small and I don’t fully line my eye. I only line from the outer corner to about the center of my upper lash line because when I bring the liner all the way into my inner corner I think it closes up my eyes and makes them look smaller, not to mention harsher. My wings are pretty low-key. I only want to elongate my eyes slightly and make them a little rounder. I’m not one for drama.

As I mentioned earlier, my eyes get really watery so I don’t ever bother with liner or mascara on my bottom lash line because they would just become a runny, smeary mess pretty quickly.

For the look below, I went backwards in my usual eye routine. Since I wasn’t feeling too confident going back to a pencil liner, I drew the wing first then went in with Maybelline Colossal mascara. I was going to stop there but my eye looked a little naked so then I whipped out the tried and true Stila Kitten eye shadow and applied it wet for a stronger frosty/metallic effect. (This is the type of finish I hoped the terrible Physicians Formula Extreme Shimmer cream shadows would’ve had when I bought them except in an easier to use cream formula.) When I packed on Kitten I ended up covering some of the liner though but oh, well, I’m satisfied with the overall effect and pleased with the product.

Bare Eye

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner – Black

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner – Black

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner (Black) + mascara

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner (Black) + mascara

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner (Black) + mascara + Stila Kitten

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner (Black) + mascara + Stila Kitten

For the past month or so I’ve been using Rimmel’s Gentle Eye Make Up Remover, which also came in my Frosty VoxBox for free from Influenster, on a regular basis.

The product has a colorless, unscented and very light, watery consistency. It doesn’t leave an oily residue behind on the skin or burn my eyes which are definite pros but it does take a lot of product to do a thorough cleaning job.

The easiest and gentlest way I’ve found to use this remover is to soak a cotton pad completely then press and hold the pad against my closed eye to break the makeup down. After about a minute or two, I’d flip the pad over onto the clean side, press and hold again and then gently wipe away whatever makeup’s left on my eye. Rubbing at the eye with a wet but comparatively drier cotton pad wasn’t nearly as effective and was a lot rougher on the skin.

All in all, it’s not my favorite makeup remover even after I got the hang of it. I always use waterproof mascara and it takes a lot of the Rimmel remover to get the job done so I was going through the bottle really quickly. I much prefer using straight up oils (e.g. baby oil, olive oil, etc.) to get rid of my eye makeup at the end of the day. I need way less oil compared to the Rimmel remover to take off my waterproof makeup, the oils break down waterproof makeup much faster, and they have the added benefit of conditioning my lashes.

To sum everything up, the Rimmel Scandaleyes pencil is good but I’d recommend skipping the remover.

Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner (Black) + mascara + Stila Kitten

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Poloxamer 184, Sodium PCA, BHT, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Hexylene Glycol, Isopropyl Alcohol, Panthenol, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylisothiazolinone, Sodium Benzoate.

