Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

It pains me to give Physicians Formula another negative review since they’re my favorite drugstore brand for cheek products but their new Shimmer Strips Custom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner palette is craptastic. If you can believe it, it’s even worse than the new Gel Cream Shadow trio that I reviewed a few days ago.

I purchased mine from CVS for the way overpriced $13.29.

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

Much like the gel cream shadows, this powder eye shadow palette comes in glitzy pink glitter packaging but cardboard rather than plastic. Included inside is a slanted sponge tip applicator.

The palette is available in two versions — Nude or Smoky — but I chose Nude which includes a variety shades ranging from white to charcoal grey.

The colors are right up my alley but the pigmentation, texture and finish are a big NO!

Perhaps my extremely dry skin plays a factor but these shadows apply so sheerly and don’t adhere well to my skin at all. Basically all I get is glitter and no pigment which you can probably tell by my swatches and how the product looks on my eye shadow brush head below.

The glitter here is worse than the glitter in the cream shadow trio. The glitter there was chunky, flaky and non-uniform and it’s all that here but the glitter pieces are even larger and more abundant. I got the best pigmentation out of these shadows by tapping the powders onto my lids with my fingertip versus using a brush but they were still rather sheer. Like the cream shadow trio, these shadows would work best as glittery topcoats in conjunction with other eye shadows/bases rather than as stand-alone products.

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

I do want to note that when I swatch shadows for my blog and when I wear them on most days that I don’t use an eye primer. If I’m going to a special event and I want to make extra sure that the shadows stay put that’s the only time I’ll use a primer (i.e. to extend the wear of a product that I already know has longevity) but otherwise I feel like good eye shadows should be able to stand on their own. In my opinion, shadows that require the use of an eye primer or base to work, whether they’re drugstore or high end in price, aren’t good shadows at all and I’m not going to lower the bar to justify their worth. I tag all of my blog posts and if you look through the “eye shadow” tag you’ll see I’ve tried all sorts of brands — everything from drugstore to LORAC — but my favorite eye shadows for my dry skin are the bareMinerals READY pressed shadows; they’re buttery smooth, highly pigmented and adhere well to the skin.

The Physicians Formula Extreme Shimmer shadows fail in every regard. They feel smooth to the touch yet crumbly and flaky at the same time, are so sheer, and don’t cling to the skin at all (aside from the glitter chunks that stick and migrate everywhere). I’m completely unimpressed and horrified that such a product exists. Huge thumbs down for this palette. Keep away!

Mrslolalynn on YouTube, to whom I referred in my cream shadow review, named this palette as her weekly makeup flop a few days ago so if you need a second opinion I’ll direct you to her video here. I completely agree with her on the cream shadow trio and powder eye shadow palette: bad.

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

Physicians Formula Shimmer StripsCustom Eye Enhancing Extreme Shimmer Shadow & Liner – Nude

