bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Soft Linen & Barely Nude

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Soft Linen & Barely Nude

For the past month or so I’ve been enjoying using the new-ish bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15. I first received a sample size of the shade Barely Nude with one of my Sephora orders. Then when I ordered the bareMinerals Bare Tutorials Neutral Eyes kit I got the opportunity to try the shade Soft Linen. I must say I really, really like both of them. They’re what I wanted Urban Decay’s Primer Potion in Eden to be but wasn’t.

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Soft Linen & Barely Nude

The 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 claim to provide five benefits: they act as long-wearing colors, eye shadow primers, brighteners, smooth the appearance of fine lines, and offer sun protection. Available in several shades, each one comes in a frosted plastic tube with a doe-foot applicator. A full size (0.1 oz) tube retails for $18. The one that comes in the Bare Tutorials Neutral Eyes kit is 0.07 oz and the Sephora deluxe sample is 0.03 oz.

Sephora describes Soft Linen as tan and Barely Nude as nude in color but I’d say Soft Linen is more of a light yellowy peach and Barely Nude is a pink nude. Both shades contain tiny, light reflecting particles. Out of the two that I own, Soft Linen has a lot more microshimmer while Barely Nude has hardly any. Indoors in natural light I don’t really notice the shimmer; it’s much more apparent in direct sunlight but it’s nothing I’d consider obvious, chunky or over the top. I have to look really closely in a mirror to spot the shimmer. Both shades are great for neutralizing discoloration and brightening the eyelids. Oftentimes, when I’m in a rush I’ll just dab either one on my lids, blend and go. If you want something quick and non-fussy, this is it.

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Soft Linen & Barely Nude

bareMinerals 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 – Soft Linen & Barely Nude

I bought UD’s Primer Potion in Eden off of a blog sale and I got Laura Mercier’s Eye Basics in Wheat as a Sephora Beauty Insider 100-point perk. If it had been up to me I would’ve chosen an Eye Basics in another shade like Linen or Flax. As a stand alone, brightening/neutralizing eye shadow Wheat is a bust for me. It’s much too dark and peach/orange for my skin tone and makes my eyes look more tired than they are but I think the quality of the product is great.

If you love the Eye Basics I think bareMinerals 5-in-1 cream shadows are worth a closer look. The texture is interesting. Urban Decay’s Primer Potion has that thin, slippery silicone texture. Laura Mercier’s Eye Basics has a denser, creamier texture. Out of the two I’d say that the bareMinerals BB cream shadows feel more like the Eye Basics than the Primer Potion. However, when I rub it into my skin the bareMinerals BB cream shadow goes from more of a cream to powder consistency whereas the Eye Basics feels relatively creamy and emollient throughout the blending process. The bareMinerals cream shadows also feel less tacky on the lids compared to the Eye Basics.

In terms of coverage, again the BB cream shadows are reminiscent of the Eye Basics. I got the Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden in the hopes that I’d be able to use it as a stand alone eye shadow to counteract some of the brown discoloration on my lids but I found it much too sheer for that purpose. The Laura Mercier Eye Basics and bareMinerals 5-in-1 cream shadows both offer more opaque, buildable coverage, so if I wanted to I could wear them alone as eye shadows or underneath eye shadows as primers. I’ve used the 5-in-1 cream shadows as primers and I haven’t experienced any problems as far as longevity, creasing and blending powder shadows on top of them are concerned but I have really dry skin and lids.

Clockwise from left: bareMinerals Soft Linen, bareMinerals Barely Nude, Urban Decay Primer Potion Eden, Laura Mercier Eye Basics Wheat

Clockwise from top left: bareMinerals Soft Linen, bareMinerals Barely Nude, Urban Decay Primer Potion Eden, Laura Mercier Eye Basics Wheat

