Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color – Starfish

Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color – Starfish

I thought I was all set with orange blushes. I’d found two really great ones lately — BECCA Songbird and SheaMoisture Varkala Spice — but then I came across a great deal that I couldn’t pass up.

Shiseido’s Luminizing Satin Face Color in OR308 Starfish has been on my wish list for the longest time ever since I tried High Beam White over a year ago but at $30 it was something that could be kept on the back burner. Then just recently I stumbled across Starfish on a blog sale at a much more affordable price and that’s how I ended up adding another orange blush to my collection.

To put it simply: love!

Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color – Starfish

I adore Shiseido’s understated packaging: simple, sleek, slim, lightweight black plastic with the iconic camellia logo on the front. I’m not one for flashy, gaudy, gimmicky compacts. Less is more.

When I received Starfish in the mail I have to admit I was a bit disappointed initially because in the pan it looks a lot like BECCA Songbird. I’ve been trying my best to edit down my stash, so the last thing I wanted was a dupe. But you know what they say: never judge a book by its cover. The way Starfish looks in the compact and how it actually swatches and applies onto the skin are completely different. Rather than orange, Starfish is more of a pinkish peach with a gorgeous skin-like, subtle sheen. It makes me look like I have naturally fresh, glowing skin.There’s nothing sparkly or shimmery about this blush and it’s completely unscented.

Compared to SheaMoisture Varkala Spice and BECCA Songbird, Shiseido Starfish isn’t as loosely packed, powdery or soft in the pan. It’s more firmly pressed but not as hard as, say, a Tarte Amazonian Clay blush. I’m a blush patter (I never swirl my brush in a blush pan and I dislike hard-packed blushes that require me to do so) and I can easily touch my brush to the Starfish pan to pick up product and pat it onto my cheeks for a very pretty effect. What I guess I’m trying to say is the consistency of Starfish in the pan is just right; it’s hard but not so hard I need to scrub at it with my blush brush, and it’s soft but not so soft that it kicks up a whole lot of loose powder.

Starfish is a more muted peach and the color payoff, while still good, isn’t as strong as Varkala Spice or Songbird; however, the color is buildable and the blush never looks heavy, cakey or powdery when it’s layered.

After looking over my stash with a critical eye I came to the conclusion that three orange/peach blushes is a little more than I need. Not that anyone needs even one blush but you know what I mean. And so I’ve decided to let Varkala Spice go. It’s a beautiful color but not necessarily the most flattering color on me. It leans a bit too red and dark for my liking and it’s not the easiest to work with on fair skin. Varkala Spice is very pigmented so I think it would work best on medium to dark skin tones. On lighter skin it’s easy to overapply the color and I often find myself having to spend extra time trying to blend it out. That’s especially hard for me to do because I use cream foundation which I never set with powder (my skin type is very dry), so Varkala Spice will go on quite strongly if I don’t make sure to use an ultra light hand. Compared to that, Starfish is much more user friendly on fair skin because the color payoff isn’t as “BAM, in your face” and I can build it up gradually.

Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color – Starfish

SheaMoisture Varkala Spice, Shiseido Starfish, Becca Songbird

SheaMoisture Varkala Spice, Shiseido Starfish, Becca Songbird

SheaMoisture Varkala Spice, Shiseido Starfish, Becca Songbird

