bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

Although bareMinerals’ holiday palette The Magic Act didn’t impress me much — the cheek products were underwhelming — and I ended up returning it to Sephora, I knew I still wanted to treat myself with something from the brand for Christmas. I’m a huge fan of their pressed READY eye shadow formula. With the rare exception, the READY shadows are generally all buttery smooth, pigmented, and adhere amazingly well to dry skin even without a primer. Speaking as a person with ultra dry skin, it’s hard finding eye shadows that work on me. bareMinerals READY shadows are some of the few that do and that’s the reason I keep on buying them.

Earlier in the year bareMinerals released their Bare Tutorials collection. One of the sets in the collection, Neutral Eyes, really caught my attention but it had sold out nearly everywhere, including bareminerals.com and Sephora, by the time the big holiday sales hit. Luckily, as chance would have it, Nordstrom still had the Neutral Eyes set in stock and was price matching bareMinerals’ Friends & Family 20% discount a few weeks ago, so I was able to get it for $23.60 (regularly $29.50). I have to say the Neutral Eyes set is probably my favorite makeup purchase I’ve made this holiday season!

Note: bareMinerals has since restocked the Neutral Eyes kit and you can still get it through Nordstrom too.

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

The bareMinerals Bare Tutorials Neutral Eyes Collection includes:

  • Mini 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Soft Linen (2 ml/0.07 fl. oz.)
  • bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 The Overachiever featuring Schmooze + Get Ahead (bronze sheen/rustic taupe)(2.7 g/0.09 oz.)
  • Lasting Line Long-Wearing Eyeliner in Lasting Brown (0.35 g/0.012 oz.)
  • Mini Blend + Contour Brush
  • step-by-step instructions for beautifully refined eyes

Everything comes packaged  in a cute, reusable metal tin.

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

bareMinerals The Overachiever (Schmooze/Get Ahead)

bareMinerals The Overachiever (Schmooze, Get Ahead)

bareMinerals Soft Linen

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials Neutral Eyes (l-r): Schmooze, Get Ahead, Lasting Brown, Soft Linen

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials Neutral Eyes

Bare eye

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

bareMinerals Bare Tutorials – Neutral Eyes

I love just about everything that comes in this kit. If you’re a fan of easy, breezy neutral shadows and “no makeup” makeup this set couldn’t be more perfect for creating a polished, put together eye look.

The 5-in-1 BB Advanced Performance Cream Eyeshadow Broad Spectrum SPF 15 in Soft Linen has a yellow tone and does a great job of neutralizing the darkness on my lids and providing a smooth base for the shadows. The texture is smooth, creamy and blends out easily. Looking at Soft Linen up close it contains some superfine light reflecting particles. It’s something that I can easily wear either alone or under shadows.

I absolutely love The Overachiever duo. Schmooze is a gorgeous frosty/metallic bronze and Get Ahead is a great satin-matte taupe. You can apply the shades lightly for daytime or apply them more heavily for a more nighttime appropriate look.

I love that they included a brown eyeliner in this kit since black can sometimes look very harsh especially with lighter neutral colors. The Lasting Line Long-Wearing Eyeliner in Lasting Brown, while not the softest or creamiest liner formula I’ve ever used, is still nicely creamy and glides across the lids easily enough for me. It’s a retractable pencil on one side with a rubber smudger tip and sharpener on the opposite end.

The brush that comes with the set is serviceable, definitely not the best I’ve ever used by a long shot (it’s a tiny bit scratchy), but good enough for a travel set. It’s what I used to create the eye look in this blog post and it did an okay job but I could’ve used a fluffier blending brush. Still, not bad.

It would’ve been nice if bareMinerals had included one of their mascaras in the kit but it’s not a deal breaker. I used Maybelline’s Volum’ Express The Colossal Waterproof Mascara on my top lashes to complete the look.

