Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Duo – Lychee/Musk

Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Duo – Lychee/Musk

I finally got around to trying the Bite Beauty Luminous Creme Lipsticks that YouTube beauty gurus seem to love so much.

I picked up a duo in Lychee/Musk from Sephora during their VIB sale. There were a bunch of them in the bins near the check out line with other travel size items.

Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Duo – Musk/Lychee

A full size Bite Luminous Creme lipstick (0.15 oz) normally retails for $24. The lipstick duo that I purchased is a much smaller sample size in comparison but comes with two different shades. Each side of the lipstick contains 0.05 oz of product, so 0.10 oz total for $12 which is a pretty good value.

The gimmick, marketing, hype or whatever you want to call it, surrounding Bite Beauty lipsticks is that they contain food-grade ingredients and are paraben/phthalate/sulfate-free. In addition, the lipsticks contain the antioxidant resveratrol which Bite claims provides anti-aging benefits, so not only are the lipsticks supposed to feel good and look good on your lips but they’re actually supposed to do good things for your lips too.

Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Duo – Lychee/Musk

Personally, I’m always skeptical whenever cosmetics brands make anti-aging claims. If a lipstick could really turn back the hands of time people would be buying it in bulk and smearing the stuff all over their bodies. So setting aside the anti-aging claims which I think is hooey, I must say that the formula feels great on the lips. These lipsticks are very moisturizing, creamy and lightweight but not super slick. They have less slip than Clinique’s Chubby Sticks, It Cosmetics’ Vitality Lip Flush lipsticks, Lipstick Queen Jean Queen, and Red Apple Lipsticks’ Summer Passions lipsticks. If I had to compare the Luminous Creme lipstick texture to anything I’d say it reminds me a lot of Red Apple Lipstick’s Instant Color formula which I plan on reviewing soon.

The Luminous Creme lipsticks have a bit of a scent which I attribute to all of the plant butters and oils in the formula. There’s nothing fruity, sweet, minty or anything as obvious as that about these lipsticks. It’s a very natural scent that most people probably wouldn’t find offensive.

Personally I don’t find anything about these lipsticks “luminous.” There’s perhaps the barest creamy shine but nothing as glossy as the other lipstick brands I mentioned above. It’s definitely miles away from Too Faced’s La Creme lipsticks which I absolutely love for their cushiony texture and glossy shine.

Clockwise from left: Bite Beauty Lychee, Bite Beauty Musk, Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Curviest Caramel, Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle

Lychee is described as a light neutral pink and Musk as a pink brown. Both shades have a creme finish, no shimmer or sparkle.

I have to say I’m not too crazy about these two colors on me. I have pale lips to begin with and my skin coloring tends to accentuate and bring out the grey and cool tones in a lot of lipsticks, so I usually gravitate towards warmer, deeper, brighter neutrals.

Although it swatches beautifully on my hand, Lychee reads rather milky, pale and cool pink on my lips. Of the two colors I prefer Musk which I might perhaps have called a MLBB (“my lips but better”) color except I’ve found other lipsticks that I think do a better job at brightening my complexion and flattering my skin tone. Musk simply looks a little dull and blah on my lips. For MLBB I prefer Too Faced Spice Spice Baby, Clinique’s Curviest Caramel and Revlon’s Pink Truffle which are slightly warmer and brighter than Bite Musk. It’s the most similar in color, though not a dupe, to Curviest Caramel and Pink Truffle but compared to those two, Musk has more brown and bit of mauve to it.

Clockwise from top left: Bare Lips, Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Lychee, Bite Beauty Luminous Crème Lipstick Musk

Despite appearances, my lips aren’t dry. They’re actually quite soft but very, very lined. One aspect of the Luminous Creme lipsticks that might be a good or bad thing depending on how smooth your lips are naturally is that they really hug the lips like a second skin. If you have smooth, unlined lips to begin with that would probably be a great thing. However, if you have lips with a lot of lines, like mine, the Luminous Creme lipsticks really highlight those lines. If you compare the way the Bite Luminous Creme lipsticks sit on my lips in the photos above to the way the Too Faced La Creme lipstick looks on my lips you’ll see what I mean. The La Creme lipstick fills in and smooths out my lip lines so much that you’d hardly believe those lips belong to the same person. On the plus side, the Luminous Creme lipsticks don’t settle into my lip lines and I don’t experience any feathering with them either.

All in all, I like the Bite Luminous Creme lipsticks but I don’t love them. They’re moisturizing and creamy on the lips but they don’t do anything to minimize the appearance of my fine lines the way some of my favorite lipsticks do. I still prefer Too Faced La Creme, Clinique Chubby Stick, Red Apple Lipstick, It Cosmetics Vitality Lip Flush, Lipstick Queen lipsticks and even Revlon Lip Butters over these. For line smoothing, I highly recommend Too Faced La Creme lipsticks. And if you want a lipstick formula that’s just as moisturizing as Bite’s Luminous Creme with natural ingredients, I recommend checking out the Red Apple Lipstick brand. Go for RAL’s Instant Color formula if you want something that feels similar to Bite’s Luminous Creme, and the Summer Passions or Original Formula if you want something even smoother that feels like a lip balm.

