RMS Beauty Living Luminizer

RMS Beauty Living Luminizer

The RMS Beauty Living Luminizer is a much hyped product and at $38 (0.17oz/4.82g) it’s quite a pricey one too. It’s supposedly the product that gives models that much sought after, ethereal, dewy glow. Being a girl with ultra dry skin that looks matte and dull most days, I had to give it a try.

I purchased mine from blush.com. I tend to buy most of my non-drugstore, mid- to high-end makeup from them because I like their free shipping, no minimum policy and they ship pretty quickly. No shilling. I’m not affiliated with them in any way, just pleased with my shopping experiences with them over the past few years.

RMS Beauty Living Luminizer

Like the RMS Beauty “un” cover-up that I reviewed a couple of weeks ago, the Living Luminizer also comes in a frosted glass jar with a screw-on metal lid.

It’s a cream highlighter that’s all natural but not vegan. It contains a very simple list of ingredients, mainly plant oils and beeswax, so I think it would be okay for most people. I know some people are sensitive to coconut oil which is present in the Living Luminizer so, if you’re one of those people, just a heads up.

The texture is interesting. Most cream highlighters I’ve encountered have been on the softer and creamier side, like the Maybelline Master Glaze sticks, NYX cream blushes or the It Cosmetics Hello Light cream highlighter. The Living Luminizer isn’t like those at all. And based on the ingredients one might assume that it would feel oily and greasy but it doesn’t feel like that either. The waxy base gives the Living Luminizer a firm, solid texture that’s more similar to an EOS lip balm or Maybelline Color Tattoo than something soft and creamy/greasy like a Nivea lip butter or Smith’s Rosebud Salve.

RMS Beauty Living Luminizer

The stock photo on RMS’ website gives the impression that the Living Luminizer is a very golden highlighter. In reality the product looks slightly off-white/ivory in the jar but on the skin it’s practically colorless and transparent with a sheeny, pearlescent finish. I wouldn’t classify it as sparkly or shimmery. It’s much too subtle for that. Half of the glow you get from this product comes from the plant oils (coconut oil, castor oil) and the other comes from the mica. On the skin, it feels extremely lightweight and the overall effect is naturally dewy. It doesn’t feel sticky or greasy at all and as far as I can tell it doesn’t have any fragrance either.

Application couldn’t be easier. Although the cream highlighter is initially solid and dry to the touch because of its waxy base, it’s not dry or drying in the slightest. The plant oils in the Living Luminizer give it a lot of slip but I need to swirl my finger on the product’s surface to warm it up first and get some on my fingertip. After that I just dab it onto the tops of my cheekbones.

RMS Beauty Living Luminizer

RMS advises using the Living Luminizer sparingly but I think it’s a product that would be hard to overdo. I had to swatch it very heavily for photos just so you could see it. In person and used sparingly as recommended it’s nearly undetectable in the best possible way, at least on fair skin. It’s sort of like Shiseido High Beam White, an extremely subtle powder highlighter, except in a cream formula. It’s possible the Living Luminizer might be more obvious on darker skin but that’s not something I’d be able to tell you because I’ve only tried it on myself.

Some people call it a glorified version of coconut oil or Vaseline but I think the Living Luminizer is much better. It’s not sticky or greasy like Vaseline and it doesn’t sink into the skin and disappear the way plain coconut oil would. The coconut and castor oils give the Living Luminizer its sheen and the mica gives it its pearlescence but the beeswax gives the cream highlighter longevity so it stays where you place it and doesn’t get totally absorbed into the skin. I’ve gotta say I really like it and I can see now why so many other people do too. It’s definitely the most natural looking cream highlighter I’ve ever tried.

Ingredients: *Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, *Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, *Cera Alba (Beeswax), *Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, and may contain [+/- Titanium Dioxide CI77891, Mica CI 77019]
* CERTIFIED ORGANIC

