L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur Foundation

L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur Foundation in Light Ivory

If I had to choose my favorite drugstore foundation it would have to be L’Oreal Visible Lift Repair Absolute. Out of all the mainstream low-end foundations available it’s the most moisturizing, least drying one I’ve come across so far. So being a huge fan of that, when L’Oreal came out with their new Blur foundation of course I had to give it a try. Like the Repair Absolute foundation, the Blur foundation is also part of L’Oreal’s Visible Lift range of products which are geared towards people with more mature skin. I don’t technically have mature skin but I’ve learned from experience that products marketed to an older demographic are generally more moisturizing and suitable for those with drier skin types like me.

I purchased a tube of L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur Foundation at CVS (1.3 fl oz, $14.99). Lucky for me I had a 25% off coupon and some CVS Extra Bucks because, woah, drugstore foundations are getting rather pricey these days.

The Blur foundation comes in a rather large, squeezable, plastic tube. Underneath the cap, there’s a small, foil seal which ensures that each tube is fresh. You get 1.3 fl oz of product which is a bit more than the standard 1 fl oz that most foundations offer.

I chose the lightest shade, 201 Light Ivory, which I’d describe as being peachy yellow and suitable for NC15-20.

The most surprising aspect of this foundation is definitely its texture. If you’ve tried the Visible Lift Blur Blushes, the foundation is totally different. I’m not sure how to describe it. I guess I’d call it either a runny cream or a creamy liquid that feels very silicone-y and silky as I blend it out on my skin. Coverage is light with a semi-matte finish. There’s no shimmer or scent to this product.

I first tried this foundation in the summer when temperatures were in the 90s and I really liked it at that point. Does anyone else feel like their skin looks much better in hotter weather than in the winter because that’s how I feel. In the summer months my skin doesn’t require as much moisture and it tends to be less flaky and problematic. Back then I didn’t need a lot of coverage so the Blur foundation was perfect.

However, as the weather cooled off it quickly became apparent that the Blur foundation just didn’t offer the adequate moisture necessary for drier skin. This foundation isn’t the most forgiving on dry patches but that didn’t come as much of a surprise. For me, the creamier and stiffer a foundation is the better it usually looks on dry skin, and the runnier and more liquid a foundation is the more likely it is to seep under and accentuate the edges of flakes and dry patches. That was exactly the case here.

Buffing the foundation on with a brush or rubbing it into the skin seemed to accentuate flaky skin. I preferred stippling the foundation on with a dense brush or beauty sponge.

I also noticed that this foundation didn’t apply well on freshly moisturized skin. You really need to let your moisturizer sink in to your skin and set with this foundation or else it slips around and goes on streaky.

As for blurring wrinkles and pores, I’d say it softens them marginally but it definitely doesn’t erase them, so if that’s the main reason you’re interested in trying this foundation out I’d say skip it.

I’d recommend this foundation to those with normal to oilier skin who are looking for light coverage, a natural finish, and aren’t sensitive to silicone.

L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur Foundation in Light Ivory

L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur Foundation in Light Ivory

Right to left: Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory), L’Oreal Repair Absolute (Soft Ivory), It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye (Light), L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur (Light Ivory), RMS Beauty “un” cover-up in 00, Laura Mericer (Porcelain Ivory), Mally Perfect Prep Highlighting Under Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Right to left: Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory), L’Oreal Repair Absolute (Soft Ivory), It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye (Light), L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur (Light Ivory), RMS Beauty “un” cover-up in 00, Laura Mericer (Porcelain Ivory), Mally Perfect Prep Highlighting Under Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate (7.5%). Other: Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Isotridecyl Isononanoate, PEG 9, Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Phenoxyethanol, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein/PVP Crosspolymer, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Acrylates Copolymer, Potassium Sorbate, Ethylparaben, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Panthenol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Citric Acid, Sodium PCA, Urea, Trehalose, Polyquaternium 51, Soluble Collagen, Sodium Hyaluronate, May Contain:, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Iron Oxides

