RMS Beauty “un” cover-up

RMS Beauty “un” cover-up in 00

I’m a total newbie when it comes to “organic”/natural cosmetics but I’ve been trying out a lot of new products lately and I’ve already discovered a few new favorites, the RMS “un” cover-up (0.20 oz/5.67 g, $36) being one of them.

Just a little background: my skin type’s extremely dry and produces hardly any oil. Oftentimes I think people get confused between dehydrated skin (lacking in water but produces oil) and dry skin (lacking in oil). I have legitimately dry skin. To compensate I eat a balanced diet, drink lots of water, take supplements (fish oil, omega-3, flax seed), exfoliate and use rich moisturizers but nothing seems to make a difference. I’ve resigned myself to the idea that I’ll always be dry. Asking me to quit being dry is like asking a person who’s got extremely oily skin to stop producing oil. It’s just not going to happen.

My skin’s prone to flakiness and I also suffer from a bit of eczema and redness. On top of that, within this past year I’ve developed a sensitivity to silicone which exacerbates my dryness and eczema. Unfortunately, silicone is a very common ingredient in a lot of cosmetics so this year I’ve had to go through my entire makeup collection and get rid of a lot of stuff. For me, moving towards more “organic” cosmetics was born out of necessity. Natural cosmetic brands offer the oil-rich, silicone-free products that my skin desperately needs.

RMS Beauty “un” cover-up in 00

I first heard about the RMS “un” cover up from Tarababyz. She has fair, dry skin like me so naturally my interest was piqued and I ended up buying a jar in the lightest shade 00 off of blush.com. I don’t know what the future holds but as of right now the “un” cover up is only available in a very limited range of 5 shades. RMS describes the 00 shade as “Our lightest shade for the true snow whites.” Yeah, not really, unless snow white is synonymous with peachy yellow. It’s fair but not super pale. NC15 peeps should be fine with it.

The “un” cover up comes in a small, frosted glass pot with a white metal screw-top lid. I like it. It’s small enough to toss into a purse or slide into a pocket.

The product is unscented with a balmy, emollient, creamy texture that’s a bit on the thicker side but not pasty. It has a more solid cream consistency, the kind you’d expect from a foundation or concealer that comes in a stick format.

You have the option of using the cream as an all-over foundation or as a concealer. Coverage is light to medium, nothing too heavy duty. Personally, I think the RMS “un” cover up works best as a foundation and spot concealer. As an under eye concealer it just doesn’t cut it for me; the coverage is good but it does crease in fine lines.

The finish is lovely. It has just a hint of dewiness that makes it look very natural but I wouldn’t go so far as to say it’s full on satin or dewy. It contains no shimmer.

My favorite method of application is using my fingers to pat on a sheer layer. The jar is quite small so trying to fit a foundation brush or beauty sponge in the opening is a bit difficult. Besides, I feel like the warmth of my fingers really helps melt the product into my skin and gives the prettiest finish.

One downside is that it feels a bit tacky on the skin. On the days that I use “un” cover up I opt for cream blushes/bronzers/highlighters because I find that powders can look cakey layered on top of it. Because it has a bit of tackiness, it grabs a hold of powder products really well which is probably why Tarababyz likes using “un” cover up as an eye shadow base/primer.

Overall I’m pleased with the product. The only major negative is the price. I think it’s rather expensive for the amount of product you get, so I tend to save it for days when I’m really in a rush rather than use it as my everyday foundation/concealer. When I’m strapped for time, I reach for the RMS because it’s really easy and quick to dab some on with my fingers and rush out the door. The color 00 is a decent match for me right now with my summer coloring (NC15) but I’ll probably set it aside as we go deeper into the fall/winter and I grow paler.

I would recommend the RMS “un” cover up to people with dry skin who are looking for a moisturizing foundation/concealer with light-medium coverage and a natural finish. I’m not sure how people with oilier skin types would react to it as this product doesn’t contain any oil-absorbing ingredients like starch, talc or silica. It’s basically a jar of beeswax and plant oils. Good for me but probably not so good for others.

Ingredients: *Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, *Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, *Cera Alba (Beeswax), *Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, *Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopherol(non-GMO), *Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Extract, and may contain: [+/- Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499]
* CERTIFIED ORGANIC

Below I’ve swatched RMS “un” cover up in 00 alongside some of the pinkest (Coastal Scents Bright Eyed) and yellowest (Mally Under Eye Brightener) products in my stash so you can see where it falls in the color spectrum. As you can see, 00 leans peachy yellow and is far from what I’d consider “snow white.”

Right to left: Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory), L’Oreal Repair Absolute (Soft Ivory), It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye (Light), L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur (Light Ivory), RMS Beauty “un” cover-up in 00, Laura Mercier Creme Smooth (Porcelain Ivory), Mally Perfect Prep Highlighting Under Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Right to left: Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory), L’Oreal Repair Absolute (Soft Ivory), It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye (Light), L’Oreal Visible Lift Blur (Light Ivory), RMS Beauty “un” cover-up in 00, Laura Mercier Creme Smooth (Porcelain Ivory), Mally Perfect Prep Highlighting Under Eye Brightener (Lighter)

