It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness

After watching YouTube guru after YouTube guru rave about the awesomeness of Bye Bye Redness, my interest was piqued and I purchased a jar of my own directly from It Cosmetics’ website late last year during their Cyber Monday sale. After using it consistently for several months, I have to say it’s truly one of the most transformative products I’ve ever come across and if I had to pick my Top 3 It Cosmetics products they would be, in no particular order, the Bye Bye Under Concealer, Vitality Face Disc and Bye Bye Redness (0.37 fl oz, $32). That’s just how unique and impressive it is in my humble opinion.

What they say:

Gives perfect coverage that will never crease or crack and is designed to not only cover, but to make you skin appear supple and flawless! Infused with color-correcting and red-cancelling pigments as well as anti-aging Peptides, Collagen, Colloidal Oatmeal, Hyaluronic Acid, Aloe and Avocado. This neutralizing correcting cream also has soothing benefits and gives skin a more youthful radiance while completely concealing imperfections. The creamy formula blends easily and lasts all day.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness

Bye Bye Redness comes packaged in a small plastic pot with a screw top lid. Inside is a very thick and dense milk chocolate/mud colored cream that’s fragrance-free.

Before I purchased Bye Bye Redness I’d watched several YouTuber reviews so I knew going into things that I wouldn’t be able to use it as an all-over face product. It was winter at the time so I was at my palest (NC10-15) and the YouTubers who were able to use Bye Bye Redness as a foundation were all at least NC25. I intended to use it for its original purpose: as a redness neutralizer. I suffer from a bit of eczema (and the redness associated with it) on my cheeks so I was interested in testing its effectiveness on my trouble spots.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness

In the swatch photo below you can see just how muddy brown it looked against my skin at my palest. The only way I was able to use this product then was as a color corrector underneath my usual foundation, but used that way it was nothing short of amazing. Bye Bye Redness’ ability to cancel out redness is better than anything I’ve ever tried, including Kevyn Aucoin’s Sensual Skin Enhancer which I always consider as having the fullest coverage. But, now that I think about it, even when I wore KA SSE a bit of my redness would still peek through and the overall color match was never quite right, kind of like wearing a concealer over dark circles without a corrector underneath (i.e. the undertones aren’t quite right).

Left to right: It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Corrector (Light), Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer (Light), CC Cream (Fair), Bye Bye Redness (on NC10-15 skin)

Even more amazing than Bye Bye Redness’ ability to neutralize redness is just how little product is needed for it to work effectively. To cover up the red spots on my face I only had to use a rice grain-sized amount. Anything more than that started to look cakey on me. I have extremely dry skin and my favorite way of applying it was by using a Sigma P80 flat top concealer brush and stamping the corrector cream onto any areas of redness on my face.

Redness neutralizing awesomeness aside, Bye Bye Redness didn’t have as impressive an effect on top of birthmarks or regular dark spots for me. I still had to reach for a regular concealer in those instances, but over redness Bye Bye Redness could not be beat. The only real issue I had with this product was with its finish. I would not classify this product as dry skin-friendly because the finish is incredibly matte and I found it to be rather drying as well. Even on top of well moisturized skin I noticed that the cream accentuated my dry skin and made it look even drier and shriveled.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness (on NC20-25 skin)

I developed a tan at one point in the summer which was out of the norm for me because I generally try to stay out of the sun as much as possible to prevent sun damage. However, one good thing that came out of it was Bye Bye Redness became much more wearable. It still wasn’t an exact color match so I had to continue to use it as a corrector only on the red areas of my face but if I had been a bit darker, like an NC25, I could’ve probably been able to wear it on its own as a foundation, albeit a very drying one.

I’ve always had dry skin but as I’ve gotten older my skin has become even drier and more sensitive. Recently I came to the realization that I’ve developed a sensitivity to silicone (e.g. dimethicone and other -cones) and it now irritates my skin and exacerbates my dryness. It’s one of the reasons I’ve been gradually making a shift towards more natural/greener cosmetics. So, although I still consider Bye Bye Redness a wonderful product, I can no longer use it personally.

Note: I only use Bye Bye Redness as a color corrector on a specific area of redness, not as an all-over foundation. Bye Bye Redness covers redness like a champ but I definitely need to top it with a separate skin-tone matching foundation.

All in all, Bye Bye Redness is a wonderful redness correcting cream that’s best suited for people who don’t have very dry skin. People who are around NC25 should be able to use it as an all-in-one corrector and foundation but those with lighter skin will have to wear it underneath their usual foundation/concealer to make it work.

Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Methicone, Propanediol, Isododecane, Dimethicone, Polysilicone-11, Butylene Glycol, Decyl Glucoside, Lauryl PEG/PPG-18/18 Methicone, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Chloride, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG- 10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Hydrolyzed Silk, Acetyl Octapeptide-3, Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyl Benzylamide Diacetate, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Prunus Domestica Seed Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Perfluorodecalin, Niacinamide, Glycerin, Carbomer, Polysorbate 20, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-7, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Hyaluronic Acid, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Oleyl Carbonate, Cholesteryl Chloride, Colloidal Oatmeal, Magnolia Acuminata Bark Extract, Chrysanthemum Parthenium (Feverfew) Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Lithospermum Officinale(Gromwell) Extract, Agaricus Bisporus (Mushroom) Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Curcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Extract, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

