NYX HD Concealer – Fair

NYX HD Concealer – Fair

NYX’s HD Concealer has been on my shopping list for the longest time so during ulta.com’s last sale I finally purchased a tube in the shade Fair (0.11 fl oz, $4.99).

What they say:

Little wonder the Concealer Wand is one of NYX’s best-sellers. The concentrated, emollient-rich concealer formula goes on like a dream, is non-comedogenic and creates medium to heavy coverage. Use the lavender for sallow skin, the green to neutralize redness and the yellow for under-eye darkness.

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye (Light), NYX HD Concealer (Fair), Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory)

NYX’s HD Concealer in the shade Fair is the second lightest shade in the range. Since I was shopping online and unable to swatch all the colors in person, I did my best to pick the right shade. I was worried that the lightest shade, Porcelain, would be too light so I went for Fair and I think I chose correctly. It’s been awhile since I’ve been shade matched at MAC but I would say that I’m approximately an NC15. I get a little paler in the winter and a little darker than that in the summer but I generally hover around that number.

Fair looks quite pale in the tube. Compared to my Coastal Scents Bright Eyed corrector in Ivory and It Cosmetics’ Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer in Light, it’s slightly peachy. [For those unfamiliar with the Coastal Scents brightener, think of it as a slightly brighter version of Maybelline’s Dream Lumi Touch concealer in Radiant with a finish that’s more matte.]

It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye (Light), NYX HD Concealer (Fair), Coastal Scents Bright Eyed (Ivory)

I was really excited to try this concealer because so many YouTube gurus claim that it has excellent coverage but I’ve got to say it left me feeling underwhelmed.

I have some hyperpigmentation that leans kind of brown in the orbital (eye socket) regions of my face. The rest of my face (i.e. cheeks, jaw, forehead, bridge of the nose) is lighter in comparison. In order to counteract the discoloration around my eyes, I generally go for pink or salmon concealers and correctors because I find they neutralize brown tones much better. Yellow and peach concealers/correctors tend to look ashy on me.

Bare eyes

The first time I tested the NYX concealer I went light-handed because so many reviewers have said it’s very pigmented. On the plus side, this liquid concealer is easy to apply with its doe foot applicator, feels lightweight on the skin, and blends out easily. It’s also a great color match for the bridge of my nose and the rest of my face aside from the eye region.

Bare eye (left), NYX HD Concealer in Fair (right)

Unfortunately, I think the coverage is lacking. It did a decent job at brightening and lightening my under eye darkness but it didn’t fully conceal and, much like I’d suspected, Fair’s peachiness turned my under eye circles ashy. I’d say coverage is around medium, definitely not full.

Bare eye (left), NYX HD Concealer in Fair (right)

Up close, my under eye darkness is still visible but you can see how the concealer’s settled in my fine lines and emphasized skin texture. The finish is very matte, too matte for my dry skin type, and looks rather chalky.

NYX HD Concealer – Fair


Bare eye (left), NYX HD Concealer in Fair (right)

Just for kicks I decided to apply the concealer very heavily, exactly as I’ve seen many YouTube gurus do all the time. I’ve always wondered how YouTube gurus can slather on so much of this concealer (or any concealer for that matter) all over their face without it looking cakey.

After testing out this heavy-handed method, I’m convinced their studio lighting and camera filters blur and soften the truth. In reality, the effect is far from pretty. The coverage didn’t get much better and the dry, chalky finish got even worse. This is what NYX considers emollient? Meh, not impressed.

If you want a moisturizing concealer with better coverage that’s less prone to settling in fine lines, I suggest checking out It Cosmetics’ Bye Bye Under Eye Concealer or Tarte’s Maracuja Creaseless Concealer instead. I would not recommend the NYX HD concealer to anyone with dry skin.

Bare eye (left), NYX HD Concealer in Fair (right)

Ingredients: Hexyl Laurate, Dimethicone, Ozokerite, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Talc, Propylene Carbonate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Stearalkonium Hectorine, VP/Hexadence Copolymer, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Fragrance.

