Random Liquid, Gel and Cream Blush Swatches

Josie Maran Everlasting Honey, Josie Maran Poppy Paradise, Sonia Kashuk Charmed, Sonia Kashuk Enchanted, Benefit Benetint

Out of all of the cream blushes that have a wetter, more hydrating consistency (i.e. not counting those that come in a solid stick or pressed compact form), these five were all that remained in my collection after another major purge a couple of weeks ago. I’ve actually narrowed it down even further since then. Now all that’s left are the two Sonia Kashuk blushes but before I got rid of the others I snapped some pictures because I thought it might be helpful to see the different colors and finishes on skin.

Clockwise from top: Benefit Benetint, Sonia Kashuk Enchanted, Sonia Kashuk Charmed, Josie Maran Poppy Paradise, Josie Maran Everlasting Honey

Ugh, Benetint, how I hate thee! That blob of color you see across the top of my hand is Benefit’s Benetint, a very thin, watery, sheer, rosy cheek stain. Before applying the blush to my hand, I was careful to scrape away the excess on the applicator against the lip of the bottle and only used the tiniest amount to draw a thin, horizontal line. Even so, the stain spread out and bled everywhere into the blob you see. I’m so glad I received a small sample size with purchase because I would never shell out $30 for a full size bottle. To me it’s like rose scented water with red food coloring.

Josie Maran’s Argan Infinity Lip & Cheek Creamy Oil in Everlasting Honey was a huge disappointment. I love the color and dewiness but the formula is simply too greasy even for a dry skin gal like me. I tend to go for oil-based cream foundations for my particular skin type and noticed that whenever I wore the Creamy Oil it would break down the foundation I was wearing underneath it. From high school chemistry back in the day I still remember that “like dissolves like,” so unfortunately this blush isn’t compatible with my makeup regimen. The plant oils in the blush formula break down my oil-based foundation. Also what’s up with the grittiness in the Creamy Oil?! Even in the photograph above you can see tiny granules in the Everlasting Honey swatch. So not worth it!

As far as I’m concerned, Josie Maran’s Coconut Water Gelée in Poppy Paradise is leagues ahead of the Creamy Oil blush and Benetint in formula and performance. It provides a staining effect similar to Benetint but the color payoff is much, much better and the gel formula offers a lot more precision and control; it doesn’t bleed everywhere like Benetint. Poppy Paradise also feels ultra lightweight on the cheeks, has a natural, skin-like finish and plays well with other makeup. I don’t have issues with it breaking down my makeup like I do with the Creamy Oil.

In my search for the ultimate dewy cream blush, so far Sonia Kashuk’s Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms have come out the winner. These actually have a liquid gel formula so they feel very lightweight compared to the likes of Stila’s Convertible Colors or NYX’s Rouge Cream blushes. Since these are quite dewy, they do have a bit of tackiness on the skin but I think that’s par for the course when it comes to moist, dewy blushes. The Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms are easy to apply and come in two beautiful colors that won’t break the bank.

