Mail Call! Keurig 2.0 via Influenster

Keurig 2.0

This is completely unrelated to beauty but holy cow! After 6 months of radio silence from Influenster, a week ago, completely out of the blue, I received notification that I had been chosen to test a Keurig 2.0 coffee maker. The FedEx guy dropped it off at my doorstep this morning and I’ve been busy reading the manual and playing with the unit since then. All I’ve got to say is: Best VoxBox EVER! It definitely makes up for zero VoxBoxes since March.

I was at Walmart just the other day and they had some of the new Keurig units up for sale for $100+ each and I know other places are selling it for more. Personally, unless the experience is totally mind blowing, I would never pay that much for a coffee maker. I get along quite well with my Clever Coffee Dripper and French press (I plan on trying AeroPress, which is supposed to make an awesome cup of coffee, next). Nevertheless, I love trying new gadgets and I’m thrilled and grateful that I was able to receive a Keurig 2.0 for FREE via Influenster.

The shipment included one Keurig 2.0 coffee maker with water filter, a 4-cup carafe, a coffee & tea K-cup variety pack (single serving size),  a K-cup coffee variety pack (4-cup carafe size), and a box of Donut Shop K-cups (4-cup carafe size). This is my first Keurig but I think the multi-cup option is new to the brand. I believe prior to this you could only brew one cup at a time on a Keurig, so it’s great that people can finally make a full pot of coffee.

I’m going into this with moderate expectations. Shortly after being notified I’d been selected to try the Keurig 2.0 I started doing research online and apparently the newest version possesses DRM technology. There’s a built in scanner that reads the labels on each K-cup and if you try to use a non-Keurig K-cup, the coffee maker will give you an error message and refuse to brew. That sucks for people who like to use other brands with their Keurig or people who use reusable K-cups that they fill with their own freshly ground coffee. I wonder if that problem can be eliminated by simply saving and reusing the foil lids with a non-Keurig K-cup. You can bet I’m going to give it a try and report back if it works!

If you’re interested in joining Influenster I have a bunch of invites left. Leave your email address in a comment below and I’ll send one out to you.

