Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Charmed & Enchanted

Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Charmed & Enchanted

If you’ve been searching for an affordable dewy blush, look no further than the Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms (0.25 oz/7.2 g, $9.99 each).

I purchased both of mine from Target.

Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Charmed

Sonia Kashuk’s Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms are available in two shades: Charmed (bright orange coral) and Enchanted (hot pink), neither of which contain any shimmer.

When you first spot these in store, each tiny bottle should be sealed on the outside with plastic. If it’s not, chances are someone’s tampered with it already so keep an eye out for that.

The Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms have an unscented gel formula and brush applicator which make them a cinch to apply and blend out. These aren’t watery and drippy like Benefit’s Benetint. They definitely have more substance and viscosity to them.

Pigmentation is sheer but buildable. However, I think these would probably work best on those with fair to medium skin. These blushes may not be pigmented enough for those with darker skin.

I generally dip the brush once into the bottle, draw three lines onto each cheek and blend, and that provides a soft flush of color to my cheeks. On one hand, you definitely won’t achieve the opacity of a Stila Convertible cream blush with these but on the other hand the Sonia Kashuk blushes don’t sit as heavily on the skin as Stila’s. I can’t stand wearing Stila’s cream blushes on a hot summer’s day; they just feel so suffocating on the skin. The Sonia Kashuk blushes, in comparison, feel super lightweight.

Just as their name implies, the Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms have a dewy, slightly glossy finish. Understandably, since they have a moist, dewy finish, they feel a bit tacky on the skin but I don’t find the sensation unbearable. I don’t think they’re quite as shiny as Josie Maran’s Argan Infinity Lip & Cheek Cream Oil but those were borderline greasy looking on me and the natural oils in the formula ate away at my cream foundation. I don’t have any issue with the Sonia Kashuk blushes breaking down my makeup.

I find myself using the Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms primarily as cream blushes but they work well as lip glosses too. As a lip product, they provide glossy shine, have surprisingly good pigmentation and feel nice on the lips. In the lip swatches below, I only applied one layer of color; I didn’t re-dip the brush. The product posseses a very smooth, balmy consistency with some slip but I do notice some settling into fine lines. On the plus side, they’re not sticky, greasy or gritty feeling, they’re devoid of any flavor, and they don’t dry out my lips.

The Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balms are a great product and it surprises me that I haven’t heard people talking about them more. I like them more than Stila’s Convertible Colors, NYX’s Rouge Cream blushes, Josie Maran’s Coconut Watercolor Gelée and Argan Infinity Lip & Cheek Creamy Oils, Benefit’s Benetint/Cha Cha Tint/Posie Tint, and most cream blushes I’ve ever tried. The colors are beautiful, the formula’s great, it’s got the dewiness I want in a blush, and the price is reasonable. I really couldn’t ask for more, except perhaps extra colors.

Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Charmed

Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Charmed

Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Enchanted

Sonia Kashuk Dewy Luxe Lip & Cheek Balm – Enchanted

Clockwise from top left: Bare lips, Sonia Kashuk Charmed, Sonia Kashuk Enchanted

Ingredients: Diisostearyl Malate, Octyldodecanol, Glyceryl Isostearate, Dextrin Palmitate, Vp/Hexadecene Copolymer, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Phytosteryl Isostearate, Squalane, Alcohol, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Dicalcium Phosphate, Water/Eau, Litchi Chinensis Fruit Extract, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Tin Oxide, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Red 28, Blue 1 Lake.

