L’Oreal Colour Riche Glossy Balms – Ginger Candy & Lovely Mocha

L’Oreal Colour Riche Glossy Balms – Ginger Candy & Lovely Mocha

I’ve purged every traditional lipstick and lip gloss in my collection. These days I’m all about chubby lip pencils, especially Clinique’s Chubby Stick Intense Moisturizing Lip Colour Balms, that combine the pigmentation of a lipstick, feel of a lip balm and shine of a lip gloss. Even so, I’m always on the lookout for better, cheaper options which is why I wanted to give the new L’Oreal Glossy Balms a try.

I snagged two shades of the L’Oreal Colour Riche Glossy Balms, which retail for $7.99 each, during a BOGO50% sale at Walgreens.

The Glossy Balms are available in much brighter and darker shades but I chose two of the lightest and most neutral. Neither of these shades contains any shimmer.

Ginger Candy is a light, slightly milky, pinky nude. Based on the packaging I expected something more peachy but Ginger Candy reads quite pink on me. Overall, I wasn’t too impressed with this shade. The color payoff was sheerer than I expected and I had to make a few passes on my lips to build up the color. It delivered a decent amount of shine which I liked but the color washed me out. I can see Ginger Candy working as a MLBB (my lips but better) shade on someone else but I need more color in a MLBB because my lips are pale to begin with. Plus, the milkiness really emphasized my lip lines.

Out of the two colors I preferred Lovely Mocha, a rosy pink with much better pigmentation.

L’Oreal Ginger Candy, L’Oreal Lovely Mocha, Clinique Curviest Caramel

As far as texture goes, the L’Oreal Glossy Balms don’t feel as moisturizing as Neutrogena’s chubby pencils but they have more slip and shine than Jordana’s. Compared to Clinique’s, these feel a little creamier with more shine but I still prefer Clinqiue’s.

One thing I’ve discovered about myself is that I’m pretty sensitive to scents so I prefer my lip products to be either unscented (first choice) or vanilla/bakery scented (second choice). I really dislike fruity, floral or mint scented lip products.

The L’Oreal Glossy Balms have no added fragrance but that doesn’t mean they’re scent-free; it just means L’Oreal hasn’t added any artificial fragrance to mask the natural scent of the ingredients. To me the Glossy Balms smell and taste strongly of lanolin (a waxy, crayon, sheepy odor). Without any knowledge of the ingredients beforehand, the lanolin scent was the first thing that jumped out at me when I used the Glossy Balms. And, sure enough, when I checked online for info about the Glossy Balms lanolin was listed as one of the first few ingredients.

If the smell of lanolin doesn’t bother you, the Glossy Balms may be something you’d really enjoy but unfortunately the sheepy fragrance is something that I just can’t handle. For me, Clinique’s Chubby Sticks are the closest to being scent-free out of any chubby lip pencil I’ve tried and they remain my favorites.

