Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trio Swatch Comparisons

Clockwise from top left: Hard Candy 3x A Lady, IT Cosmetics Vitality Face Disc, Hard Candy 3rd Wheel, Hard Candy 3x A Charm

I’ve mentioned reducing my stash several times but I just wanted to give a couple of examples of how I decide what to purge.

Clockwise from top left: Hard Candy 3x A Lady, IT Cosmetics Vitality Face Disc, Hard Candy 3x A Charm, Hard Candy 3rd Wheel

If you’ve been following my blog then you know that I recently acquired the Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trios and fell in love with the pigmentation and quality. Well, looking over my stash I realized that the concept of blush/bronzer/highlighter in one compact isn’t a new idea, neither to the cosmetic world nor to me, so I decided to swatch all of my trios for comparative purposes. Being able to see all of the products swatched side by side — their colors, finishes, textures and pigmentation — makes it easy to decide what to keep and what not to keep.

The Vitality Face Disc is one my favorite IT Cosmetics products (definitely in my top 3) but upon swatching everything together I realized that the highlighter was a little too yellow and the blush a little too coral for my liking. Other than being a little nit-picky about the shades, which I really have to be since I’m trying to condense my collection, I have no complaints about the IT Cosmetics compact. The quality is excellent and I still highly recommend it. The textures of the powders are creamy smooth and highly pigmented, and the colors are gorgeous. It’s just that I prefer the colors of the Hard Candy Trios a little more.

Price didn’t even factor into my decision but if cost is important to you it might interest you to know that you can scoop up all four Hard Candy Trios ($9 each) for less than the price of one IT Cosmetics Vitality Face Disc ($38). Just something to keep in mind if you’re looking for a good all-in-one face compact.

Clockwise from top: theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, Hard Candy 3x A Charm, Hard Candy 3rd Wheel, Hard Candy 3x A Lady

Next, I went through my highlighters. I got rid of a whole lot of my highlighters recently but theBalm’s Mary-Lou Manizer made the initial cut. I also kept the Stila All Over Shimmer Powder in Kitten but compared to the highlighters in the Hard Candy Trios, Mary-Lou is the most comparable shade-wise. Stila Kitten is deeper and bronzier so I chose not to swatch it here.

As much as it pained me, I chose to get rid of Mary-Lou Manizer. These days I find myself reaching for whiter or pinker highlighters which provide more of a glowy impact on my skin. It never bothered me before but lately Mary-Lou’s been looking a little too yellow on my face.

Highlighters (left to right): theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer, Hard Candy 3x A Charm, Hard Candy 3rd Wheel, Hard Candy 3x A Lady

