Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener

Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (Lighter)

I’d like to share a product that I’ve really been enjoying more than I initially thought I would: the Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (0.4 oz, $35).

The Brightener is available in two shades, Lighter and Deeper. I purchased Lighter for my fair skin.

$35 is on the pricier side for an eye brightener but you get quite a lot of product in the frosted glass jar so I actually think it ends up being a good value, especially if you buy it during a sale as I did.

First things first, THIS IS NOT A CONCEALER. If you go into this thinking you’re getting a product that’s going to cover up dark circles and blemishes, you’ll be sorely disappointed.

The Perfect Prep Brightener is a fragrance-free, yellow-tinted corrector cream that Mally lovingly calls her “sunshine in a jar.” This product is designed to help neutralize the purple/blue tones in your skin and bring brightness to any shadowy, dark areas on your face. Consider it a supplement to your existing foundation and concealer.

Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (Lighter)

Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener (Lighter)

The coverage is sheer to light but it makes a subtle yet noticeable difference, at least in my opinion. It’s tempting to pile on the cream because if a little makes a small difference, then a lot would make an even bigger difference, right? No. Just the tiniest drop of the cream is needed to brighten up the under-eyes or any shadowy area like frown lines. Sure, you can try building up the coverage but I strongly recommend against it because the more you apply, the more opaque the Brightener becomes and the last thing you want is a noticeable stripe of yellow on your face. You want just enough to color correct and brighten but not enough for the yellow to be detectable.

The cream is hydrating yet very lightweight. It reminds me a little of Clinique’s Dramatically Different Gel/Lotion, not only in color (although Mally’s Brightener isn’t simply tinted; it actually deposits color) but in how light it feels on the skin. The Brightener does however leave a slight sheen behind, the kind you’d expect from applying a moisturizing eye cream, but there’s no shimmer. And although it might make sense to wear it underneath makeup like an eye cream, in my experience this works better lightly patted on with a finger on top of foundation and concealer. Michele1218 actually did a First Impressions and Demo video using the Brightener under makeup on one eye and on top of her makeup on the other eye and she preferred the way it looked on top, too. I think it’s because that little bit of sheen-y finish it has makes the under-eye area look more hydrated and refreshed. Also, because it’s so sheer, foundation and concealer might just cover up the effect of the Brightener if it’s worn underneath them. This product works best as one of the final steps in a makeup routine.

I’ve used yellow correctors before, mostly the kind that comes in stick form although there was a Carmindy yellow corrector that CVS used to carry that came in a small compact. However, all of those were solid, denser creams that had more opaque coverage. Mally’s is the first yellow corrector I’ve used that has such a thin, light consistency and sheer coverage. And, unlike stick correctors, I find that no matter how much I pile on Mally’s Brightener never looks cakey or heavy.

This product is awesome! I use it on my frown lines, my under eyes, and even a little on my chin where I get a bit of darkness and it really does add a bit of sunshine to the face. Just remember to use sparingly! A little bit goes a long way so one jar should last ages.

[Note: In the demo photos below I’m wearing Mally’s Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener alone without foundation or concealer so my under-eye circles are still visible. Focus on the brightening/neutralizing aspect of the Brightener and how it reduces the purple/blue tones in my under-eye area.]

Bare Eyes (ignore the wonky, drunken cross-eyes)

Bare Eye (left), Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener in Lighter (right)

Bare Eye (left), Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener in Lighter (right)

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate, Glycerin, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol Denat, Aluminum Hydroxide, Stearic ACId, Glyceryl Polyacrylate, Acrylates Copolymer, Sodium Chloride, Caprylyl Glycol, Dextrin Palmitate, Palmitic Acid, Methyl Diisopropyl Propionamide, Ethyl Methane Carboxamide, Hydrolyzed Corn Starch, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Glycosphingolipids, Hordeum Vulgare Extract, Sea Salt, Nylon-12, Xanthan Gum, Lecithin, Sodium Hyaluronate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Methicone, Hexylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Chromium Oxide Greens (CI 77288), Chromium Hydroxide Greens (CI 77289).

———-

As you know, I’m a big fan of Bare Minerals’ READY shadows but aside from those palettes and some of their pressed bronzers and highlighters I don’t really have a lot of experience with the brand. However, I remembered hearing a lot of good things about their Well-Rested Eye Brightener SPF20 powder and decided to give it a try when I saw it on sale for $10 in a 3-pc kit.

Unfortunately, I didn’t find Well-Rested had much of a corrective effect compared to Mally’s Brightener. It doesn’t contain any shimmer or sparkle but under direct sunlight Well-Rested has an understated, barely detectable luminosity so I can understand why people love using it in the under-eye area. The light creamy beige color, however, didn’t do much in the way of brightening, color correcting or neutralizing dark circles for me. I feel like I could achieve a similar effect using a light-colored face powder.

I did try using Well-Rested as an under-eye setting powder but I use a pretty dense cream concealer (It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye) and thought that it looked cakey as a topper and didn’t brighten up the area much. I prefer the finish and effect I get with Bye Bye Under Eye either worn alone or with a dab of Mally’s Brightener on top.

Bare Minerals Well-Rested (left), Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener in Lighter (right)

Bare Minerals Well-Rested (left), Mally Perfect Prep Hydrating Under-Eye Brightener in Lighter (right)

