Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trios – 3 Strikes, 3rd Wheel, 3x A Lady

Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trios – 3 Strikes, 3rd Wheel, 3x A Lady

I don’t do a lot of shopping at Walmart normally but HollieEatsLipstick’s rave review of the Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trios really piqued my interest.

The So Baked Contour Trios are available in four shades (0.23 oz, $9) and I purchased three: 3 Strikes, 3rd Wheel, and 3x A Lady.

I don’t have a lot of experience with Hard Candy as a brand but I was really impressed with the quality of their So Baked Bronzer in Tiki and Blush Crush baked blush in Pin Up. Those are great but I think the trios are even better. The texture’s a little smoother and creamier in my opinion and the pigmentation overall is fantastic.

Just a word of caution: you can’t be afraid of glow. If you prefer a matte finish, these aren’t for you. The highlighters and blushes in these trios vary between glowy and frosty metallic and the bronzers have kind of a satin matte finish.

Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trios – 3 Strikes, 3rd Wheel, 3x A Lady

The only trio I had an issue with was 3 Strikes; the bronzer in it applied a little patchy and the pigmentation for me wasn’t quite there. With that said, I think there are often variations in baked products. For instance with marbleized baked products, such as the MAC MSFs, you can visually see differences in coloration, even among compacts that share the same shade name. When Hollie swatched her 3 Strikes the colors all seemed really bold, so just because my 3 Strikes is a little under par that doesn’t mean you’ll get one like that too; yours could be amazeballs. With baked products I think it’s a crapshoot and you basically take your chances when you buy one. Personally, I think I did pretty well. My 3rd Wheel and 3x A Lady compacts were extremely smooth and pigmented, and the quality of the blush and highlighter shades in 3 Strikes made up for the “meh” bronzer.

The trio with the best texture and pigmentation for me was 3x A Lady, hands down. The color payoff of the highlighter in that trio is like woah! It’s super frosty and metallic and right up there with the likes of Mary-Lou Manizer in pigmentation. However, my favorite trio and the one I find myself reaching for the most often is 3rd Wheel. The blush in it is the perfect neutral pink and the highlighter has an interesting pink iridescent sheen.

I’ve got to say that I actually like these trios more than Milani’s baked blushes. I think the quality’s just as good but the problem I had with Milani’s was the colors were too bright for my tastes. Hard Candy’s softer, more neutral shades (at least with 3rd Wheel and 3x A Lady) speak to me more and I find having a blush, highlighter and bronzer all in one compact really handy. I highly recommend these and I plan on getting the fourth trio the next time I’m at Walmart.

Hard Candy So Baked Contour Trios – 3 Strikes, 3rd Wheel, 3x A Lady

