Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée – Poppy Paradise

Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée – Poppy Paradise

Although I liked the color and dewy finish, I found the Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil blush to be lacking in staying power. The color faded quickly, the oil-based blush broke down the rest of my makeup, and it sat heavily on my dry skin. Despite all of that, I’m a big fan of Josie Maran’s original Argan Infinity Cream and wasn’t about to turn my back on the brand based on one bad experience.

Consequently, after my disappointing experience with her Creamy Oil blush I decided to give Josie Maran’s Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée (0.18 oz, $22) a try. They’re available in eight shades on sephora.com and I went with Poppy Paradise which is described as a warm toned hot pink.

I’ve got to say I enjoy the Gelée blush formula so much more than the Creamy Oil and if you have to choose between the two products I’d steer you towards the Gelée.

The texture’s really interesting. It looks like a jelly in the glass pot and slightly translucent to the eye but it isn’t as firm and gelatin-like as you might perhaps expect. Swirling my finger along the surface of the blush, it has a bit of give. According to the product description the Gelée is made up of 50% coconut water and I believe it. It’s a little creamy to the touch yet moist and thin in consistency. It doesn’t feel oily to me at all. 

Josie Maran’s Coconut Watercolor Gelée is fragrance-free unlike the orange-scented Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil. I’ve heard some people say the Gelée smells like coconut but I can’t detect any scent. Go figure.

As far as pigmentation goes, this provides a sheer but buildable “blush from within,” natural flush of color to the cheeks. If I have to compare it to another product I’d say the effect it gives is the most similar to Benefit’s Benetint but better. In my experience the Gelée has slightly stronger color payoff and it’s a lot easier to apply and layer onto the skin. I’ve never been a fan of Benetint’s rose -scented watery formula that has a tendency to bleed into fine lines and cling to dry patches of skin.

Josie Maran Poppy Paradise – 1 swipe (left), 3 swipes (right)

Josie Maran describes the finish as dewy but I have to disagree. Freshly applied it does look a little moist but once it sets it just looks like skin. It feels very lightweight and non-sticky on the skin and I don’t notice any dewiness at all.

Compared to the Creamy Oil blush the Gelée is much more long wearing. It’s basically a cheek stain so if you’ve been looking for a blush that’ll stay put this is definitely one to consider.

You can use a brush or sponge to apply but I prefer to use my fingers for simplicity’s sake. I’ve tried applying the Gelée with a duo-fiber stippling brush and I’ve found if you want stronger pigmentation then a brush is the way to go.

All things considered the Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelée is a great blush and in my opinion a superior product compared to Josie Maran’s Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil. It feels and looks great on the skin, is easy to apply and has fantastic staying power. It’s not quite what I’m looking for in a cream blush (I prefer a dewier finish) but I would highly recommend it to others. If you’ve been searching for a new blush stain or cream blush to try, you should definitely check it out.

