Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

Josie Maran’s Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil is a riff on her popular Argan Infinity Cream, a moisturizing cream that melts into an oil as it warms up on the skin. Both products contain argan oil as well as a slew of other natural plant butters and oils that are great for the skin. The difference with the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil is that it has an added tint of color so it retains the moisturizing properties of the original Argan Infinity Cream but works as a blush and lip gloss too.

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Cream, Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil

When I learned about the Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil I was stoked. I thought to myself, “this is going to be awesome. This is going to be the be all and end all of cream blushes. It’s going to look so fab and dewy on my super dry skin. I’m going to love this!” Unfortunately, those high expectations didn’t pan out.

The Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oils are available in six shades. I purchased one tube in the lightest shade, Everlasting Honey (0.5 oz, $18) from sephora.com.

Wet n Wild Fergie Eyeshadow Primer, Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil

The first time I laid eyes on the tube I was surprised. It’s much smaller than I had expected and the original Argan Infinity Cream (2.2 oz, $28) is humongous in comparison.

In person, the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil tube is just a little bigger than a tube of Wet n Wild Fergie Collection Eyeshadow Primer (0.34 oz).

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

The product is housed in a squeeze tube so it’s easy to store, hygienic, and convenient to dispense.

I’d liken the texture of the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil to Vaseline Lip Therapy (100% petroleum jelly) in the squeeze tube. For a non-petrolatum product, it feels and performs a lot like one.

Compared to the original Argan Infinity Cream, the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil is a little thicker and denser in consistency and doesn’t absorb easily into the skin. Instead it kind of sits on top of the skin. However, both products share the same light, orange citrus scent that I personally find enjoyable.

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

For a long time the Stila Convertible Colors were my favorite cream blushes because of their dewy finish, pigmentation and ease of use but with the onslaught of hot weather they began feeling heavy and suffocating on my skin. I’ve been searching for a lightweight alternative to the Convertible Colors with a finish that’s as dewy if not more so. When I came across the Josie Maran cream blush I thought I’d hit the jackpot.

Swatched side by side, I hope you can see the differences between the Stila and Josie Maran products. The Convertible Color is drier, denser and more opaque compared to the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil which is much more emollient, spreadable and translucent. And check out that finish! I have extremely dry skin and most so-called dewy products are never dewy on me but the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil is! In fact, it might even be too dewy for me and that’s saying something. I suspect that the Josie Maran cream blush would be overkill (read: greasy looking) on people with oily or combo skin but on very dry skin, as long as you don’t apply too much, it can look dewy and natural because the translucency of the product allows your skin to peek through.

Stila Convertible Color Gerbera, Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip & Cheek Creamy Oil Everlasting Honey

I’ve seen others complain about the pigmentation of some of the lighter shades with people calling Everlasting Honey too sheer but I have to disagree. Everlasting Honey is a beautiful rosy nude and all that shine and glossiness you see is from the moisturizing butters and oils in the formula. It’s completely shimmer-free. Perhaps it’s because I’m fair complexioned but, as you can see from the swatches, just a tiny of dot of product has very good color payoff on my skin (NC15).

Now to tell you why I don’t love the Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil. I’m a fan of the color, the finish and ease of application but it eats my foundation! For reference, I have never ever had an issue with makeup fading or breaking down on my skin. I have extremely dry skin and once makeup goes on my face it stays there. I don’t even own any finishing or setting powders. That goes to show you how well makeup clings to my skin.

I suppose if I had really considered the ingredients in the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil I would’ve suspected how it would affect the rest of my makeup. To put it simply, if you’ve ever used an oil (e.g. olive oil, baby oil, mineral oil, etc.) to remove your makeup, the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil has the same effect. When I first applied it to my cheeks it looked gorgeous but an hour later the color had faded and the concealer and foundation I had underneath it had broken down. I was left with two glossy circles of foundation-less skin on my cheeks (which are the driest parts of my face!) but the slightly tacky, oily residue of the Creamy Oil still remained. This stuff sat on top of my skin unlike the original Argan Infinity Cream that absorbs into my skin. Perhaps the blush would’ve lasted longer layered on top of a setting powder but I don’t own any so I wasn’t able to test that out.

There’s also another disconcerting aspect of the Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil that bears mentioning. I think I’ve only come across a handful of other reviewers who’ve experienced this so maybe we bought tubes from the same batch (or maybe no else has noticed this or is bothered by it) but my cream blush contained tiny granules which you can in the close-up swatch below. I know this isn’t what happened but in my mind I pictured a worker at the Josie Maran factory eating a cookie over a vat of Creamy Oil and the crumbs falling into it. I have no clue what these grains are but they’re tiny, hard and scratchy like the exfoliating particles in a face scrub.

When the Creamy Oil didn’t work on my cheeks I thought about keeping it as a lip gloss but in the end I got rid of it. The oil feels nice and moisturizing on the lips but I couldn’t justify hanging onto an $18 gritty, sheer lip gloss.

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

I’m a big fan of the original Argan Infinity Cream but I would recommend skipping the Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil. The color isn’t long wearing and the product breaks down any makeup worn underneath it. You’re basically left looking like you’re wearing clear Vaseline or lip gloss on your face. Also, beware of those scrubby particles!

The only people who I’d possibly recommend this product to, and that’s with huge reservations and assuming they manage to score a tube without the scratchy bits, are those with very dry skin and great skin who don’t wear concealer or foundation. I think this would be a great cream blush option for teens and 20-somethings with clear skin who want a naturally dewy effect. I’m imagining porcelain skinned redheads with freckles and how beautiful this blush would look on them with their freckles peeking through.

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

Josie Maran Argan Infinity Lip and Cheek Creamy Oil – Everlasting Honey

