Hiatus

The graphics card in my laptop, my main computer, died so until I figure out what to do I’ll be taking a little hiatus from the blog.

Right now I’m trying to decide if it’s worth it to fix my laptop, if I should upgrade and buy a new laptop, or get a new desktop PC. I’m leaning toward option #3. This was my first laptop and while it worked perfectly for the past 4 years I never realized it could be so finicky. I’m not super tech-y but with a desktop PC even I had been able to open up the case and switch out or install parts easily. But with the laptop, the graphics card is soldered onto the motherboard and I don’t have the equipment to fix that myself. What a pain! I went to several repair shops to see if I could get it fixed for a decent price and one person said it would be easier to just replace the entire motherboard. If I have to do that I might as well get a new computer. And I had a bunch of swatch photos on the laptop ready to be uploaded too 😦

In a way it’s fate. Even before my laptop crapped out I’d been thinking about buying a new computer. I know that I want something inexpensive with a lot of hard drive space, plenty of memory, good processor speed and graphics card, wireless capability, and a DVD burner. I’d like something that can handle video games. I’m not a serious gamer so I don’t need a top of the line hardcore gaming PC but I want a computer that’s at least above the minimum system requirements level of most games.

I expect to be back to blogging within the month but definitely not for the next couple of weeks. I think that’s how long it’ll take me to find and buy a new computer and get my files transferred from my laptop over to it.

If anyone has any desktop PC recommendations or places to shop for a good deal, feel free to share! I’m not loyal to any particular computer brand so long as it works well and isn’t too pricey.

