Sephora Collection Sol de Rio Bronzing Powder

Sephora Collection Sol de Rio Bronzing Powder

No excuses. This was a total impulse buy. I went into Sephora looking for the limited edition Sephora + Pantone Rush Luster Cheek Sweep palette. You know, the blush/highlighter palette with the Radiant Orchid blush that came out a couple of months ago. I didn’t have much hope of finding it but I was okay with that. If I was lucky enough to find one, yay; if not, I wasn’t going to be upset. I was resigned to whatever fate had in store for me and, honestly, I’m kind of glad I didn’t find it. I had doubts about my ability to pull off a purple blush.

Not wanting to waste a trip to Sephora, I decided to do a quick once over of the store and stumbled across a small display of the limited edition Sephora Collection Sol de Rio bronzer. How could I not? The packaging is so colorful and eye-catching!

Sephora Collection Sol de Rio Bronzing Powder

I played with the Sol de Rio tester at the store and, well, I was impressed enough that I ended up buying one on the spot.

For all the shimmer-phobes out there, you’re in luck because this is a completely matte bronzer. The powder is nicely pigmented and the texture is quite lovely. Not too hard and firmly pressed, not too soft and powdery. It has a smooth, blendable consistency that may have to do with the fact the powder is enriched with jojoba and sunflower oils.

In my opinion, the only negative is that the powder is strongly scented with a powdery floral fragrance. Right now I have the bronzer compact sitting open on top of my vanity in the hopes that the scent will dissipate if I let it air out for a few days.

Sephora Collection Sol de Rio Bronzing Powder

Some might say that $22 for a Sephora brand bronzer is too expensive but the compact itself is huge! The Sol de Rio packaging is hard plastic which is very similar to Tarte’s Aqualillies and Coral Crush palettes. It measures approximately 4.5 inches in diameter, the same size as my It Cosmetics Vitality Face Disc or the size of my entire hand stretched out. But most importantly, inside the compact you get 0.88 oz of product. Compare that to NARS Laguna (0.28 oz, $38) and Too Faced Chocolate Soleil (0.35 oz, $30). It’s a steal!

The thing I dislike about the Sol de Rio compact is that it’s a little difficult to open. With compacts like this, there’s usually a small divot or groove on the outside that you can stick your fingernail into to flick the compact open. There’s no such groove on the Sol de Rio compact, so you sort of have to carefully press and pry the lid open with both thumbs. Half the time I’m afraid that my thumb will slip as I’m opening the compact and that I’ll nick a huge chunk out of the powder.

Compared to the other bronzers in my stash, Sol de Rio is definitely more neutral but still leans warm. Unfortunately, it’s only available in one shade which I think would best suit those with fair to medium skin tones. I’m not sure if it would show up on darker skin.

Packaging flaw and fragrance aside, I think Sol de Rio is a great bronzer and an amazing value. Grab one while you can because I bet whatever’s left will fly off the shelves once the weather really starts warming up. Last I checked, it’s still available on sephora.com but I know it’s already sold out online once before and I don’t know if they’re going to keep on restocking it for long.

Clockwise from top left: It Cosmetics Vitality Face Disc, Sephora Sol de Rio, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

Clockwise from top left: It Cosmetics Vitality Face Disc, Sephora Sol de Rio, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Mineral Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer, theBalm Betty-Lou Manizer

3 thoughts on “Sephora Collection Sol de Rio Bronzing Powder

  1. I saw it in store and I liked how it looks, but for me it’s huge and picture on outside doesn’t look so attractive even it’s so summery and bright. I have no idea how many centuries you should use such huge bronzer:D But the color is very good:)

    • LOL I’m sure it’ll take me years to get through this bronzer. And, yeah, the bright, colorful graphics are a bit tacky but they did their job. It got me to stop and take a closer look 😀

Comments are closed.