Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

The Too Faced Boudoir Eyes palette ($36) was the only item I purchased from the most recent Sephora VIB sale.

Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

When Too Faced released the Boudoir Eyes palette last year I had zero interest. The sales pitch for it was that it’ll give you sexy, smoldering eyes and most of the tutorials I’ve seen using this palette have been for dark, smoky eyes which really isn’t what I’m going for. I prefer much softer eye looks, so I completely wrote Boudoir Eyes off for the longest time as just another smokey eye palette.

It wasn’t until recently when I was watching one of hollieeatslipstick’s videos that Boudoir Eyes finally grabbed my attention. I’m sure that for most people their eyes would’ve been drawn immediately to the bold vampy lips and winged liner but mine gravitated towards the simple, soft, neutral eye shadow combination on her eyelids and I was pleasantly surprised to discover she created it with the Boudoir Eyes palette. After watching the tutorial I knew I had to get it…so I did.

Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

I’ve been using the Boudoir Eyes palette for the past few weeks and I’ve got to say that the lightest 6 shades in the first two columns are my jam! As for the darkest shades in the last column, I don’t find myself reaching for the glittery black French Tickler all that often but Voulez-Vous and Garter Belt do get used sparingly to add dimension.

Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

Too Faced shadows are definitely not the creamiest, most buttery or most pigmented ones I’ve ever used but they all seem to work well on my dry skin and that’s why I’m a fan. They apply, adhere and blend on my eyelids quite easily and I personally don’t mind that some colors aren’t 100% opaque. They still have really good color payoff (all swatches below are one swipe on bare skin). The pigmentation’s more than enough for me and the type of look I want to achieve.

I never considered myself a lover of taupes and greys before but this palette has made me a believer. I guess all I needed was to find the right ones.

The only thing I dislike about the palette is the packaging. Switching from cardboard to tin packaging was definitely a huge upgrade but I’m not very fond of the magnetic closure which is rather weak in my opinion. I wish it clicked shut like an old fashioned tin pencil case for extra security. I keep the Boudoir Eyes palette lying flat in a drawer and sometimes when I reach in to pull it out, the palette will just swing open. So annoying! I have the same issue with the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette packaging.

Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

