Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick – Jungle Peach & Icy Violet

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick – Jungle Peach & Icy Violet

My local CVS store finally put out the limited edition Revlon Legacy Collection display that others have been talking about since February. There were five Super Lustrous lipstick shades in the display but I chose two: Jungle Peach and Icy Violet.

Let me just take a moment to say that Super Lustrous lipsticks have gotten pricey! I could’ve sworn they used to be $5 or $6 but they rang up $9.29 apiece at CVS. At least I had coupons and earned some ExtraCare Bucks on my purchase. Otherwise, forget it, I wouldn’t have bothered.

Jungle Peach is a peach color with a creme finish. After reading all the positive feedback from various bloggers, this was one shade I knew I had to pick up. Icy Violet is a mauve lipstick with a pearl finish. It looks super dark but it’s more of a berry mauve on the lips. It’s sheerer than it looks in the tube but that’s what makes it surprisingly wearable and very pretty.

Revlon Super Lustrous lipsticks are far from my favorites. I can appreciate the simple packaging, unscented/unflavored formula, and wide variety of colors but they don’t really do my lips any favors. I don’t have super dry lips but I have a lot of lip lines genetically and most Super Lustrous lipstick shades I’ve tried emphasize them. The Lip Butters are much more forgiving on lip lines in my experience and those are the Revlon lip products I usually go for. The Super Lustrous formula is simply too dry and thin for my liking although Jungle Peach and Icy Violet feel a lot nicer than other shades I’ve tried in the past. I much prefer the Too Faced La Creme lipsticks which minimize my lip lines with their glossier finish, cushion-y texture and more moisturizing formula.

I think I’ll keep both Revlon lipsticks — at least Jungle Peach — because I like the colors but in the future I’ll be topping them with a clear gloss to help fill in and camouflage my lip lines.

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick – Jungle Peach & Icy Violet

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick – Jungle Peach & Icy Violet

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick – Jungle Peach & Icy Violet

