bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Promise

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Promise

The bareMinerals READY eye shadow duo in The Promise consists of of Aspire (buttercream sheen) and Vow (matte brownstone). I purchased mine directly from bareescentuals.com only a month ago but I think this duo may have been discontinued just recently because I no longer see it available on their site or on sephora.com.

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Promise

I’d had my eye on this duo for awhile but it was really emilynoel83’s Easy Eyeshadow: The Sandwich Method video that finally pushed me into getting it. I always appreciate when bloggers swatch products and show product pics but most of the photos I was able to find for The Promise (even Bare Escentuals’ own stock photos) make the eye shadow colors look very distorted. Aspire, in particular, appears very orange in lots of people’s photos when in reality it’s more of a pale canary yellow with a touch of peach. I think emilynoel83’s video is an accurate representation of what this duo looks like in person.

The pigmentation and texture of the shadows are good but not as great as some of the other bareMinerals READY eye shadows that I’ve used before, like The Top Shelf duo which is amazingly pigmented and buttery soft. Aspire specifically isn’t as buttery and the color payoff could be a little better but it applies, layers and blends easily and isn’t overly shimmery. The pigmentation of Vow is definitely a lot better and I don’t have any issues with it.

The Promise was actually on the chopping block and had made it into my purge pile for my blog sale. Luckily I decided to give it another chance and pulled it out of my purge pile. I originally wanted to get rid of it because the shades seem dupe-able and I dislike having too many similar colors in my stash but then I rethought it. These are colors that I gravitate towards and know that I’ll use consistently, so why not keep them? I already know I like the bareMinerals READY formula and I love the colors.

The Promise is a great, travel-friendly little palette for creating a quick and easy two-eye shadow look. Use Aspire to brighten the eyelid and Vow to add some dimension and definition.

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Promise

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Promise

bareMinerals READY Eyeshadow 2.0 – The Promise

