Cargo Vintage Escape

Cargo Vintage Escape

Cargo Vintage Escape: quite possibly the most beautiful eye shadow palette I’ve ever had the pleasure to own.

If you love Cargo’s blushes, I can practically guarantee that you’ll love these eye shadows…that is, if you can still find the palette. Unfortunately, it was a limited edition Fall 2013 palette so it’ll probably be difficult to find but I think it’s worth the $39 I paid for it. I actually bought mine back in November and didn’t pull it out to use until just recently.

Cargo Vintage Escape

I remember there was a ton of hype during the holiday season for the LORAC Pro and Unzipped palettes, various Too Faced seasonal palettes, and the Laura Mercier Artist palette but I don’t recall very many people talking about the Cargo Vintage Escape palette. What a shame. Much like their powder blushes, the Cargo eye shadows are finely milled, soft and buttery smooth but without the fallout I’ve experienced with the LORAC Pro palette.

And the colors….absolutely gorgeous! You get 12 eye shadows in the faux leather encased palette, almost all of which are highly pigmented, the exception being Black Crow which is more of a soft charcoal black rather than an opaque, deep black but it’s definitely buildable. Chestnut, though, makes up for it; it’s a crazy pigmented dark brown that’s almost black.

Cargo Vintage Escape

Included inside the palette is a dual ended eye shadow and liner brush. It’s useable if you’re in a pinch but feels pretty cheap and flimsy. The one that I have feels like the metal ferrules are going to separate any minute from the handle and I’m pretty sure I’ll have to break out the superglue at some point. The brushes are irrelevant though. What you’re after is the shadows…

The Cargo Vintage Escape palette comes with five matte shades (Harvest Moon, Black Crow, Hot Cocoa, Autumn, Chestnut) and seven shimmer shades (Cuddle, Frolic, Cinnamon, Twigs, Crisp, Weathered Leaves, Rustic). Except for Black Crow, the colors are all highly pigmented. The swatches below were all done on bare skin with one swipe (except for Black Crow which took three swipes) and, as you can plainly see, they’re beautiful, beautiful colors.

As a person with dry skin I often have trouble finding eye shadows brands/formulas that adhere to the skin (even with an eye primer underneath) but the Vintage Escape eye shadows go on as easily as the bareMinerals READY shadows that I love so much and all of the eye shadows blend easily on the eyes. Honestly, I’m shocked that this palette didn’t receive a ton of buzz when it was released. It certainly deserves it.

If you can still get your hands on the Cargo Vintage Escape palette without paying an insane markup price I recommend scooping one up. It’s certainly one of the best quality eye shadow palettes I’ve ever come across.

Even though I’m thoroughly impressed with the quality of the palette I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to keep it. The left half of the palette really speaks to me but I’m not sure about the right half. You see, I’m a neutral girl at heart and I tend to go for lighter neutrals at that. I think perhaps the right-hand side is a little too colorful and dark for my tastes. Someone who isn’t as shy with color would really benefit from this palette.

Cargo Vintage Escape

