Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask

Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask

After dragging my feet for the past couple of weeks I finally mustered up the courage to use the complimentary Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask that came in the Influenster J’Adore Voxbox.

Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask

Just why was I so scared to try it? From past experiences clay masks and very dry skin (which I have) don’t often mix well. There have been a few exceptions but most of the clay masks I’ve tried before have been overly drying and harsh on my skin. The “Shine Away” in the product name didn’t ease my doubts a bit. My skin barely produces any oil so I want to hold onto as much of it as I can and a product that promises to strip away the shine (i.e. oil) doesn’t exactly sound like something I want to use. But I’m always game when it comes to trying something new.

What Boots says:

Suitable for all skin types but particularly good for oily skin to combination skin, this face mask actively removes impurities and deeply cleanses. Enriched with clarifying willowbark.

This mineral-rich ionic mask absorbs excess oil and detoxifies skin. The oceanic clay exhibits a negative electrical charge, which helps to draw out deep-rooted impurities without overdrying. Skin is left clearer, softer and smoother.

Willowbark is nature’s champion clarifier. Excess sebum, pollution and old skin cells can clog up pores, resulting in shine and blemishes. The bark of the willow tree is a natural source of salicylic acid which helps to refine skin texture and actively target imperfections.

Retail price $9.39 for 100 ml.

Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask (unshaken)

The consistency of this mask was rather surprising. Compared to other clay masks the Boots clay mask is very runny and if you shake the tube you can actually hear it sloshing around inside.

Make sure to shake the tube well before use because if you let it sit upright for awhile the clay will separate from the liquid. I learned the hard way. The first time I used it, all that came out was muddy water that dripped all over the place. What a mess.

After shaking the product up the texture becomes a little thicker but still not as dense as other clay masks. It applies in very sheer, thin layers onto the skin and because of that dries extremely quickly from a dark army green to a light mint green.

Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask (shaken)

As it was drying on my face I could feel my skin tightening up uncomfortably. I knew immediately that I had done a bad, bad thing. Luckily the mask rinsed off easily but my skin was crying out for moisture afterward. I slathered on the thickest, richest face cream I could find and hoped for the best but unfortunately days later I’m still suffering the effects of the Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask. My skin is dried out and flaking like crazy.

Those with very dry skin beware. I would only recommend this face mask to people with oily skin.

