Too Faced Trio Compacts

Too Faced New Year New You Trio Compact, Too Faced All I Want For Christmas Trio Compact

The main reason I broke down and got the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette is these two small compacts. Prior to using them I’d had a pretty poor opinion of Too Faced products, the La Creme lipsticks being the exception (love them!). The Too Faced cheek products I’ve tried in the past didn’t impress me and I had assumed their shadow formulas would be equally lackluster. I was wrong. They’re quite nice!

Too Faced New Year New You Trio Compact, Too Faced All I Want For Christmas Trio Compact

I own two Too Faced trio compacts, both of which were included in limited edition holiday sets so I’m not entirely sure if you’d still be able to find them now. Sorry 😦

Too Faced New Year New You Trio Compact

The first trio belonged to the Too Faced New Year New You holiday set and includes the eye shadows Silk Teddy and Totally Toasted that both have a frosty metallic finish as well as La Vie En Rose, a shimmery bright pink blush.

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and textures of the eye shadows. They’re both silky smooth, highly pigmented, adhere to the lids and blend easily.

The blush however wasn’t very impressive. I love the color but the texture is drier and stiffer in the pan compared to the shadows and the color payoff is good but not great. Honestly, it’s about what I’ve come to expect from Too Faced cheek products. Their Milk Chocolate Soleil bronzer and Candlelight Glow behaved similarly in my experience.

Too Faced All I Want For Christmas Trio Compact

The other trio I own came in the All I Want For Christmas kit. The trio compact includes one matte shadow, a darker metallic eye shadow and a peach blush, all of which are unnamed so I have no idea of they’re shades exclusive to the set or pre-existing shades in Too Faced’s permanent collection.

The metallic shadow is lovely and silky while the matte shadow feels drier which is to be expected; however both are nicely pigmented. The peach blush has a satin finish. It feels softer to the touch and has better pigmentation than La Vie En Rose from the New Year New You compact.

Too Faced New Year New You Trio Compact (top), Too Faced All I Want For Christmas Trio Compact (bottom)

Too Faced New Year New You Trio Compact (top), Too Faced All I Want For Christmas Trio Compact (bottom)

Using these two compacts really turned me onto Too Faced’s eye shadows and it’s because of them that I bought the Chocolate Bar palette and have the Boudoir Eyes palette on its way to me in the mail.

The two compacts haven’t altered my stance on Too Faced’s cheek products though. I still find the textures a bit stiff and lacking in pigmentation (compared to, say, theBalm, Tarte and Cargo blushes), so I doubt I’ll be trying any more of Too Faced’s bronzers or blushes in the future unless they’re included in sets.

