Trader Joe’s Haul

Trader Joe’s Haul

Sorry, no beauty blog post today but hopefully you find this somewhat interesting. I know that I’m always curious about other people’s non-beauty purchases, especially when it comes to food.

As I’ve perhaps mentioned once or twice before I’ve become a big fan of Trader Joe’s. The selection of products is interesting and eclectic yet always well edited. They have some basics that they always keep in stock but routinely change up the remainder of their inventory by introducing new items to their stores. To me Trader Joe’s is kind of like Whole Foods but on a smaller scale with a friendlier, old-timey, mom & pop vibe. <3<3<3

On this trip I bought:

  • a bag of raw almonds (16 oz) – $5.99. I love to snack on nuts or make my own trail mix and TJ’s almonds are the cheapest and best quality I’ve been able to find near me. All of the nuts are always perfectly whole and large. No puny nuts, crushed pieces or, heaven forbid, rancid nuts.
  • Coconut Body Butter (8 oz) – $4.99. I needed to restock my favorite body butter since I was running low. The scent and texture are divine.
  • Ficelle – $1.99. I was scoping out Trader Joe’s breads and deciding which to try when a lady swooped in, grabbed five bags of the Ficelle and flitted off. Now that’s an endorsement if I ever saw one! I figured the bread must be awesome so I grabbed a bag myself. If you’re wondering why the bread is pasty pale it’s because it’s only half-baked; the directions say to finish baking in a 425 degree oven for 10-12 minutes for fresh, hot, crusty bread. You probably can’t see it but there are actually two short, skinny baguettes in the bag.
  • Buttermilk Pancake All-Purpose Baking Mix (32 oz) – $1.99. I love the convenience of pancake mix so I always have some in the pantry. I usually buy the Aunt Jemima or Hungry Jack mixes at the supermarket but I wanted to give Trader Joe’s version a try since the price is comparable. The mix requires the addition of water and eggs.
  • Speculoos Cookie & Cocoa Swirl (14.1 oz) – $3.99. Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter (available in creamy and crunchy varieties) gets a ton of raves but I’ve always held back from buying a jar because I’m not wild about gingerbread which is supposedly what the spread tastes like. However, when I was at the store today I spotted the Speculoos Cookie & Cocoa Swirl spread near the pancake mix and knew it had to be mine. Gingerbread cookie spread by itself has me on the fence but mixed with chocolate? Yes, please! Chocolate makes everything better. I have high hopes for this so I pray it doesn’t disappoint. And can I just say I love that the spread comes in a glass jar? It seems that these days everything at the supermarket comes in plastic except for pickles.

ETA: I was wrong. It’s not gingerbread I dislike, it’s gingersnaps I dislike. I always get the two mixed up. I actually love gingerbread and after tasting the Cookie & Cocoa Swirl spread I’m a little disappointed. The chocolate overpowers the cookie flavor so much I can barely taste the gingerbread. As a chocoholic I don’t mind that it’s basically a chocolate spread but I think I’ll be picking up the Cookie Butter next time for sure.

