The Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder – Light Matte & Fair Matte

The Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder – 01 Light Matte, 02 Fair Matte

The other day I was out shopping in Manhattan and came across a The Body Shop store. My local mall doesn’t have a TBS so this was the first time I’ve ever stepped foot in the store and checked out their products.

I made a beeline for the makeup, specifically the bronzer section. It seems that lately a lot of YouTubers and bloggers that I follow have been mentioning TBS bronzers among their favorites. From what I’ve gathered, the third lightest shade in the TBS Honey Bronze bronzer range is suitable as a bronzing and contouring powder for most people while the lightest two are fantastic options for fairer folk. I didn’t have much time to browse so I took their word for it, grabbed the two lightest shades and checked out.

Verdict: Nice packaging and great bronzers with a totally matte finish.

The Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder – 01 Light Matte, 02 Fair Matte

I love the packaging which is kind of an old school brown plastic compact. The plastic is translucent so that under a light you can see a honeycomb pattern peeking through. That sort of reminds me of Dior’s translucent blue packaging which, under a bright light, shows the initials C and D.

The bronzer itself is enriched with honey and embossed with a honeycomb pattern similar to the packaging that ties back to the honey theme. And in case you’re wondering there’s no honey scent.

The texture is smooth and soft but thankfully not loosely packed or excessively powdery.

The Body Shop Honey Bronze Bronzing Powder – 01 Light Matte, 02 Fair Matte

As for color, the bloggers and YouTubers had it right. 01 Light Matte and 02 Fair Matte are definitely best suited for fair skin (NC15 and lighter). I doubt that these will show up on darker skin unless you really pile them on.

Clockwise from top left: TBS 01 Light Matte, TBC 02 Fair Matte, Bare Minerals The Skinny Dip, Tarte Park Ave. Princess, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer

01 Light Matte leans more red and to my eye appears a bit darker than 02 Fair Matte which is more golden. Of the two I much prefer 01 Light Matte because I feel it mimics the tanned red-tinged flush I get to my cheeks when I’m out in the sun. 02 Fair Matte is nice too but I think 01 Light Matte is more natural for my skin tone.

Clockwise from top row, left: TBS 01 Light Matte, TBC 02 Fair Matte, Bare Minerals The Skinny Dip, Tarte Park Ave. Princess, Physicians Formula Mineral Wear Talc-Free Airbrushing Bronzer in Light Bronzer

I swatched the two TBS bronzers alongside some of the bronzers in my stash and, as you can see, TBS 01 Light Matte reads more red compared to TBS 02 Fair Matte. In terms of color, Bare Minerals’ The Skinny Dip is a happy medium between those two; it’s not as red as 01 Light Matte but not as golden as Fair Matte. And if the TBS bronzers are too flat for you, the Bare Minerals bronzer has the tiniest bit of sheen (no shimmer) that translates as a more natural, skin-like finish. Tarte’s matte Park Ave Princess is the darkest bronzer that I own and I feel the most neutral. My favorite bronzer though is Physicians Formula’s Airbrushing Bronzer in the shade Light Bronzer. This one has the most sheen to it — I’d say a satin finish — which helps give some life to my dry, naturally super matte skin. The color’s probably too warm for a contour but like I said before I wear my bronzers in place of blushes sometimes and I happen to think peach/orange colors are very flattering on my skin tone.

