POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

My curiosity was piqued one day when someone on a beauty forum stated that the POP Beauty Lid Bronzer was their “holy grail” eye shadow palette. Prior to this I’d never had any interest in the POP Beauty. I’ve never come across any ads about the brand and people just don’t seem to really talk about their products. Based on the lack of buzz I assumed their makeup was mediocre because even niche brands that don’t have mainstream awareness generate buzz if their products are good. For no one to ever talk about POP Beauty spoke volumes to me. Regardless, it’s quite a big deal whenever someone declares a product is holy grail — even if it’s only one person — and I always take note.

I looked up a few online reviews (mostly positive which eased my mind) before purchasing the palette off of Ulta.com (5.9 g/0.21 oz, $22). When I received the palette, boy, oh boy, was I surprised. It’s tiny, barely the length of my palm! For $22, I’ve got to admit I was rather miffed at first. On the plus side, this is probably the most travel-friendly palette ever. The packaging is made out of a stiff cardboard so it may not be the sturdiest but the palette’s so small and slim, it could literally fit into the backpocket of your jeans or into a small clutch with plenty of room to spare. If you’re going away and need to pack light, you could hardly do better than the POP Beauty Lid Bronzer palette.

POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

I continued feeling annoyed upon opening the palette and realizing there’s no mirror and only a cheap dual-ended sponge tip applicator.

Instead of a mirror the inside flap of the packaging contains instructional guides for creating a bronze eye and a smokey eye.

POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

But then I laid eyes on the eye shadows and started feeling much better. I tend to go for warm, shimmery shades on the lighter end of the color spectrum – mid-toned browns and bronzes are usually the darkest I go — so this palette is right up my alley. The Lid Bronzer shades are gorgeous and actually remind me a lot of my beloved Kat Von D Saint palette minus the deep, dark shades.

POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

As for pigmentation and texture, quite honestly I’m impressed. The shadows are a bit powdery but not terribly so and they feel smooth and soft to the touch. They swatch beautifully and apply and blend on the lids effortlessly. I had no issues at all.

POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

The color payoff is great. I love that I don’t have to keep on layering the shadows in order to get the color to show up on my eyelids. All of the swatches were done on bare skin with only one swipe of product and as you can see the colors are vivid and true to pan. They all have a shimmery/metallic-frost finish so matte lovers beware.

POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

This was my first POP Beauty product and, if the Lid Bronzer palette is a good representation of the quality I can expect from the rest of the brand, it won’t be my last. I’m not a big fan of the packaging but I think the product itself is great. I bought my palette online but I would think it’s also available in Ulta stores, too. If so, I would suggest taking a closer look at the POP Beauty display the next time you drop by a store and swatching the Lid Bronzer palette to test the quality for yourself. I would definitely recommend it, maybe not at full price for $22 but for sure if you can manage to get it on sale or with a coupon.

One thought on “POP Beauty Lid Bronzer

Comments are closed.