Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa

Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa

The fifth and final product that arrived in my Violet Voxbox compliments of Influenster was the Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa.

Suitable for normal, combination, and oily skin types, the cotton sheet mask is infused with red Mediterranean clay to cleanse as well as cinnamon and pomegranate for an aromatherapy experience.

Oh, my, was I a bad fit for the Violet Voxbox or what? I’m always thankful to receive products to try but there were so many items in the Violet Voxbox that didn’t suit my skin type, preferences or lifestyle and the Montage Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa was one of them.

My skin type is extremely, extremely dry. I tend to go for moisturizing sheet masks versus clay masks that tend to strip moisture and what little natural oil I have in my skin. When I saw the Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa in my Voxbox all I could think was “uh-oh” but since I’m game for anything I tried it anyway…for science!

The Red Earth sheet mask comes in a single use packet. Inside is one cotton sheet mask soaked, but not dripping, in red clay. The clay liquid has a thin, chalky, milky consistency. Think muddy water. It’s not clumpy, heavy or thick at all. This is definitely a mask you’ll want handle in front of sink because you’ll get muddy residue all over your hands and will probably want to wash it off immediately afterwards. Once you place the mask on your face, don’t worry about the clay liquid dripping down your face and neck; it’s not that saturated. I had the mask on my face for the prescribed 15 minutes sitting in from of my laptop and nothing dripped onto my shirt at all.

A word of warning for the scent-phobes: the fragrance is quite strong and will linger on the skin even after you rinse your face. The mask has an intense cinnamon and fruity pomegranate fragrance that reminded me of potpourri.

After removing the mask and washing my face, my skin felt tight but not as bad as I expected (I was expecting the sensation of severe rope burn on my face like the time I made the mistake of using the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque).  The Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa left a bit of a moisturizing residue on my face that I assume is due to the glycerin in the product. That would explain why my skin didn’t feel completely dehydrated but as a dry skin person I still felt the need to moisturize afterwards though.

If clay masks like the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque tend to be too harsh for you, you might want to try Montagne Jeunesse’s Red Earth Clay Spa. That is, if you can get past the scent. I would not recommend it to those with very dry skin like mine.

Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa

Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa

Montagne Jeunesse Red Earth Clay Spa

